В

Appendix B – Witness list

Friday, 12 July 2002 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Rebecca Irwin, Acting Senior Adviser, Office of International Law

Mr William McFadyen Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Dr Gregory Alan French, Director, Sea Law, Environmental Law and Antarctic Policy Section

Dr Geoffrey Raby, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Mr Dominic Trindade, Legal Adviser, Legal Branch

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Mr Ian Walker, Manager, Timor Sea Team, Resources Division

Department of the Treasury

Mr Scott William Bartley, Manager, Business Income and Industry Policy Division

Monday, 26 August 2002 - Canberra

Phillips Fox

Mr Pat Brazil, Special Counsel

Wednesday, 2 October 2002 - Perth

Private Citizens

Mrs Marlene Kelly, Research Officer for the Hon. John Fischer MLC

Dr Vivian Louis Forbes, Adjunct Associate Professor, Curtin University, Map Curator, University of Western Australia

Australian Maritime Officers Union

Mr Brad George, National Industrial Officer, Fremantle

Kimberley Professional Fisherman's Association

Mr Alan Fraser, President

Mr Adam Masters, Vice President

Phillips Petroleum Australia

Mrs Karen Brand, Managing Counsel

Mr Mike Nazroo, Vice President, Commercial

Thursday, 3 October 2002 - Darwin

Private Citizen

Mr Matthew Coffey

Australians for a Free East Timor

Mr Rob Wesley-Smith, Spokesperson

East Timor Independent Information Centre for the Timor Sea

Mr Demetrio Amaral de Carvalho

East Timor Institute for Reconstruction Monitoring and Analysis

Mr Adriano do Nascimento, Timor Sea Project Coordinator

Honeywell Ltd

Mr Terry Almond, Manager (Honeywell) and Executive Member, NT Mineral Council (Inc.)

Northern Territory Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mr Bruce Fadelli, President

Northern Territory Government

Mr Andrew Andrejewskis, Director, Petroleum Developments

NT Gas Pty Ltd

Mr Garth Borgelt, NT Manager and Member, NT Minerals Council

NT Minerals Council (Inc.)

Ms Kezia Purick, Chief Executive Officer

The East Timor National NGO Forum

Mr Cecilio Caminho Freitas, Executive Director

Friday, 4 October 2002 - Melbourne

Private Citizen

Mr Dean Bialek, Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Melbourne

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Alan Matheson, International Officer

BP Australia

Mr Geoff Coghill, Tax Manager - Indirect Taxes

Oxfam Community Aid Abroad

Mr Peter Chamberlain, Timor Response Manager

Mr James Ensor, Director of Public Policy

Uniting Church in Australia

Rev David Pargeter, Director, Justice and International Mission Unit, Synod of Victoria

Dr Mark Zirnsak, Social Justice Development Officer, Justice and Internation Mission Unit, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania

Tuesday, 8 October 2002 - Canberra

Private Citizen

Mr John Imle, Energy Consultant, Oceanic Exploration Co. Ltd and Petrotimor Companhia de Petroleos SARL

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Julie-Anne Atwell, Senior Legal Officer, Office of International Law

Mr William McFadyen Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law, Business Income Division

Ms Rebecca Irwin, Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

Deacons

Mr Ron Nathans, Partner

Dr Christopher Ward, Barrister

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Dr Gregory Alan French, Director, Sea Law, Environmental Law and Antarctic Policy Section

Dr Geoffrey Raby, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Dr Andrew Serdy, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Mr Ian Walker, Manager, Timor Sea Team, Resources Division

Department of the Treasury

Mr Scott William Bartley, Manager, Business Income and Industry Policy Division

Santos Limited

Mr Wesley Glanville, Manager Legal Mr Stephen Kelemen, Manager Northern Australia Mr Michael Lawry, Manager Group Taxation Mr Michael Price, Manager Commercial (Northern Business Unit)

Monday, 14 October 2002 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Julie-Anne Atwell, Senior Legal Officer, Office of International Law

Mr William McFadyen, First Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law, Business Income Division

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Dr Gregory Alan French, Director, Sea Law, Environmental Law and Antarctic Policy Section

Dr Geoffrey Raby, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Mr Ian Walker, Manager, Timor Sea Team, Resources Division

Department of the Treasury

Mr Michael Buckley, Manager, Resources and Environment Tax Unit Business Income Division

Mr Anthony Free, Manager, Excise Unit, Indirect Tax Division

Mrs Ariane Pickering, Special Adviser-Treaties

Woodside Australian Energy

Mr David Maxwell, Director, Gas Business Unit

Mr Adrian Wilks, Commercial and JV Coordinator, Sunrise Project