D

Appendix D — Delegation program

Delegation visit to Europe and the United States 30 June – 15 July 2009

Delegation Members

Mr Kelvin Thomson MP, Committee Chair and Delegation Leader

Mr John Forrest MP, Deputy Leader of Delegation

Ms Jill Hall MP

Mr Luke Simpkins MP

Ms Julia Searle, Delegation Secretary

Program

Wednesday, 1 July 2009

Geneva

16:00 Briefing by **HE Ms Caroline Millar**, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations and to the Conference on Disarmament

Thursday, 2 July 2009

- 10:00 Plenary meeting of the Conference on Disarmament
- 11:45 Meeting with **HE Mr Ahmet Üzümcü**, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Turkey
- 13:00 Lunch hosted by HE Ambassador Millar

Attending the lunch

HE Mr Christian Strohal, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Austria

HE Mr Hamid Ali Rao, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of India

HE Mr Dian Triansyah Djani, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Indonesia

HE Mr Im Han-taek, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the Republic of Korea

Mr Victor Vasiliev, Minister and Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Russia

HE Mr Jürg Streuli, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Switzerland

Mr Gary Larson, Chargé d'Affaires, Permanent Mission of the United States of America

Mr Tim Caughley, Consultant on Disarmament and Humanitarian Affairs

- 15:30 Meeting with **HE Mr John Duncan**, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the United Kingdom
- 16:45 Meeting with **Mr Anders Johnsson**, Secretary General, Inter-Parliamentary Union

Friday, 3 July 2009

Vienna

- 15:00 Briefing by HE Mr Peter Shannon, Ambassador
- 17:00 Reception with the Australian staff of the International Atomic Energy Agency and Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization

Monday, 6 July 2009

10:00 Meeting with the International Atomic Energy Agency

Mr David Waller, Deputy Director General, Head, Department of Management

Mr Vilmos Cserveny, Assistant Director General for External Relations and Policy Coordination

Mr Tariq Rauf, Head, Verification and Security Coordination

Mr Syed Akbaruddin, Head, Technology and Safety Policy Coordination, Interagency Affairs and Protocol

Mr Tim Andrews, Nuclear Security Project Advisor, Programme Support Group, Office of Nuclear Security

Mr Marco Marzo, Director, Division of Safeguards Operations A

Mr Herman Nackaerts, Director, Division of Safeguards Operations B

- 12:15 Lunch with Mr David Waller and Mr Peter Waggitt, IAEA
- 14:00 Meeting with the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization

Mr Ziping Gu, Officer in Charge of the CTBTO and Director, Legal and External Relations Division

Mr Lassina Zerbo, Director, International Data Centre Division

Mr Theo Juurlink, Officer in Charge, International Monitoring System Division

Mr Jun Wang, Officer in Charge, On-Site Inspection Division

Wednesday, 8 July 2009

Washington

- 10:00 Meeting with **Ms Kasia Mendelsohn**, Policy Director, Office of Nonproliferation and National Security, National Nuclear Security Administration
- 11:15 Meeting with **Mr Shane Johnson**, Acting Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, Department of Energy
- 12:45 Lunch meeting with:

Dr Joan Rohlfing, Senior Vice President for Programs and Operations, Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI)

Ms Corey Hinderstein, Director, International Programs, NTI

Ms Sharon Squassoni, Senior Associate, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

14:30 Roundtable meeting with the Stimson Center led by **Ms Ellen Laipson**, President and CEO

- 16:00 Meeting with **Mr Paul Brannan**, Senior Analyst, Institute for Science and International Security
- 17:00 Meeting with **Mr Daryl Kimball**, Executive Director, Arms Control Association

Thursday, 9 July 2009

- 10:00 Meeting with Mr David Stuart, Deputy Chief of Mission
- 11:00 Meeting with **Mr Vann Van Diepen**, Acting Assistant Secretary for International Security and Nonproliferation, Department of State
- 14:00 Meeting with **Dr Lawrence Scheinman**, Distinguished Professor, James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies
- 15:30 Meeting with **Mr Robert Einhorn**, Special Adviser for Non-proliferation and Arms Control, Department of State

Friday, 10 July 2009

New York

- 09:00 Meeting with HE Mr Gary Quinlan, Ambassador
- 10:00 Meeting with **Mr Sergio Duarte**, High Representative for Disarmament Affairs
- 11:15 Meeting with **HE Mr Hasan Kleib**, Deputy Permanent Representative of Indonesia
- 13:30 Lunch hosted by Chargé d'Affaires Goledzinowksi

Attending the lunch:

Ambassador Rosemary DiCarlo, Alternate Representative for Special Political Affairs, United States Mission

Ambassador Philip Parham, Deputy Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom

Mr Xavier Chattel, First Secretary, Permanent Mission of France

15:30 Meeting with Mr Zhou Long, Counsellor, Permanent Mission of China

Monday, 13 July 2009

10:00 Roundtable meeting with the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs

- 12:30 Meeting with **Mr Konstantin Dolgov**, Deputy Permanent Representative of Russia
- 13:15 Lunch hosted by Chargé d'Affaires Goledzinowksi

Attending the lunch:

HE Mr Shigeki Sumi, Ambassador, Permanent Mission of Japan

Brigadier Fred Tolit, Counsellor, Military Advisor, Permanent Mission of the Republic of Uganda

Mr Ismail Cobanoğlu, Counsellor and Disarmament Expert, Permanent Mission of Turkey

Ms Marcela Calderón, Minister Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Costa Rica

15:00 Meeting with **Dr John Burroughs**, Executive Director, Lawyers' Committee on Nuclear Policy