

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON TREATIES

MEDIA ALERT

Issued: 16 September 2009

Chair: Kelvin Thomson MP Deputy Chair: Senator Julian McGauran

# NUCLEAR NON-PROLIFERATION AND DISARMAMENT REPORT — TO BE RELEASED TOMORROW

The Parliament's Joint Standing Committee on Treaties will tomorrow table the report of its inquiry into nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament. The 200 page report will be tabled in the House of Representatives before midday.

### The report will be available on the Committee's website after tabling at: http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/nuclearnon\_proliferation/report.htm

The Committee will conduct a media conference following the report's tabling.

## MEDIA CONFERENCE DETAILS

# DATE AND TIME: 12.00 PM, THURSDAY 17 SEPTEMBER 2009 VENUE: PARLIAMENT HOUSE, COMMITTEE ROOM 1S2

The media conference will be webcast at: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

## BACKGROUND INFORMATION TO THE INQUIRY-

The Prime Minister wrote to the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties in October 2008 asking it to inquire into the nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament treaties involving Australia. The Committee was asked to consider how these treaties advance Australia's objectives, how they might be made more comprehensive or effective, and how inter-parliamentary action can contribute to strengthening the treaty-based aspects of the non-proliferation regime. The Committee was also asked to consider how the Committee and the Parliament can contribute to the work of the International Commission on Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament.

The Committee received 87 submissions and over 90 exhibits. It examined 30 witnesses at public hearings conducted in Melbourne, Sydney, Darwin and Canberra from February to May 2009.

Submissions to the inquiry, public hearing transcripts and the full terms of reference can be accessed from the Committee's website: http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/nuclearnon\_proliferation/index.htm

#### To arrange media comment from the Chair, Kelvin Thomson MP, please contact Mr Anthony Cianflone on (02) 6277 4633 (Parliament House) or (03) 9350 5777 (Electorate)

For further information, please contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4002 or via email at jsct@aph.gov.au