How many Commonwealth countries will have ratified (the Convention by the time of the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games)?

The UNESCO Secretariat has advised that Canada has ratified the Convention.

The UNESCO Secretariat has also advised that the following 8 Commonwealth countries are expected to ratify the Convention by the commencement of the Olympic Winter Games in Turin, Italy on 10 February 2006:

- The United Kingdom
- Barbados
- Malaysia
- New Zealand
- Nigeria
- South Africa
- Cameroon
- Jamaica

The 2003 Copenhagen Declaration on Doping in Sport included a commitment to develop a legally binding international convention. The World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) had advised that all but two Commonwealth Nations have signed the Declaration.