# Β

# **Appendix B - Witnesses**

Monday, 9 December 2002 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr John Atwood, Principal Lawyer, Office of International Law

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Dr Jeremy Burdon, Assistant Chief, Division of Plant Industry

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry-Australia

Mr Paul Morris, Executive Manager, Market Access and Biosecurity

Mr Craig Burns, General Manager, Trade Policy, Market Access and Biosecurity

Ms Kristiane Herrmann, Manager, FAO Plant Genetic Resources Treaty, Trade Policy, Market Access and Biosecurity

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Alan Fewster, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

Mr Adrian White, Executive Officer, International Intellectual Property Section, Services and Intellectual Property Branch, Office of Trade Negotiations

Mr Russell Wild, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

# Monday, 3 March 2003 – Canberra

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Dr Jeremy Burdon, Assistant Chief, Division of Plant Industry

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry-Australia

Mr Paul Morris, Executive Manager, Market Access and Biosecurity

Mr Craig Burns, General Manager, Trade Policy, Market Access and Biosecurity

Ms Kristiane Herrmann, Manager, FAO Plant Genetic Resources Treaty, Trade Policy, Market Access and Biosecurity

### Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Alan Fewster, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

Mr Russell Wild, Executive Officer, Legal Branch

### Grains Council of Australia

Mr Charles Willoughby, Manager, Quality Assurance

### Grains Research and Development Corporation

Dr Ross Gilmour, Program Manager (Winter Cereals Improvement), Program Operations

Mr Ewan Letts, Consultant

### Seed Industry Association of Australia

Mr Christopher Melham, General Manager

## Monday, 14 March 2005 – Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr William McFadyen Campbell, General Counsel, International Law

### Australian Seed Federation

Mr Christopher Melham, Chief Executive Officer

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Mr Brett Walker, Commercial Manager (Legal), Division of Plant Industry

### Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Dr William Roberts, Executive Manager

Ms Kristiane Herrmann, Manager, Market Access

Mr Paul Morris, Executive Manager, Market Access

### Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Michael Jonathan Thwaites, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch, International Organisations and Legal Division

### Grains Council of Australia

Mr Mathew Munro, Policy Manager, Industry Sustainability

Grains Research and Development Corporation

Mr John Harvey, Executive Manager, Varieties,

# Monday, 5 September 2005 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Susan Downing, Acting Principal Legal Officer, International Trade Law and General Advisings Branch

### Department of Education, Science and Training

Dr Evan Arthur, Group Manager, Innovation and Research Systems Group

### Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Michael Jonathan Thwaites, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

# Monday, 12 September 2005 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Mark Jennings, Senior Counsel, Office of International Law

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Gillian Bird, Deputy Secretary

Mr Michael Bliss, Director, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Mr Michael Jonathan Thwaites, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

Ms Lynette Wood, Director, ASEAN Burma and Cambodia Section Legal Branch