

Issued: 24 October 2006

Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott MP Deputy Chair: Mr Kim Wilkie MP

Australian Uranium Association to appear before Treaties Committee

Mr Michael Angwin, Executive Director of the newly created Australian Uranium Association (AUA) will appear before the Treaties Committee at its public hearing in Melbourne on Wednesday 25 October 2006. The hearing is part of the Committee's ongoing inquiry into the nuclear transfer and safeguards agreements with China.

AUA which builds upon the functions of the Uranium Information Centre (UIC) was formed in late September as a response to the expanding uranium mining sector and represents the interests of the Australian uranium mining and exploration industry. The AUA also incorporates the UIC's educational function and draws its directors from Australia's uranium producing companies: ERA, BHP Billiton, Heathgate Resources, Paladin Resources and Cameco.

"The Committee greatly welcomes the opportunity to hear more about the role and impact the Australian Uranium Association will have as a voice for the Australian uranium mining sector" Dr Southcott said.

The Committee will also hear from a number of other organisations in relation to the China Uranium Inquiry. The public hearing program is below.

Copies of submissions and further information about the inquiry is available on the Committee's website:

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/8august2006/index.htm

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM – 10.00 am-1.00 pm, 25 October 2006

Venue: K Room, Parliament of Victoria, Spring Street, Melbourne

10.00 am Friends of the Earth Australia
10.30 am Medical Association for the Prevention of War (Australia)
11.00 am Australian Uranium Association
11.45 am Australian Safeguards and Non Proliferation Office and the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation
1.00 pm Close

MEDIA CONTACTS			
Media contacts:	Wayne Arbon	(Dr Southcott's Office)	(08) 8374 0511 or 0439 883 385
	Michael Watts	(Mr Wilkie's Office)	(08) 9470 4131 or 0419 993 677
Background:	James Rees	(Committee Secretary)	(02) 6277 4642