

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON TREATIES Certain Maritime Arrangements in the Timor Sea Treaty Issued: 8 February 2007

Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott MP Deputy Chair: Kim Wilkie MP

Inquiry into Maritime Arrangements Treaty with East Timor

The Federal Parliament's Treaties Committee is inquiring into a treaty between Australia and East Timor on Certain Maritime Arrangements in the Timor Sea.

The treaty, known as the CMATS Treaty, was signed on 12 January 2006 and was tabled in Federal Parliament this week.

Under the CMATS Treaty both Australia and East Timor will be bound to refrain from asserting or pursuing their claims to rights, jurisdiction or maritime boundaries, in relation to the other, for 50 years.

The CMATS Treaty also provides for an independent assessment process at the request of either Party to review the reconciliation of the revenue sharing, the continuation of East Timorese water-column (fisheries) jurisdiction within the JPDA, and the establishment of a Maritime Commission to constitute a focal point for bilateral consultations on Timor Sea issues.

The Government has stated in its national interest analysis that "the CMATS Treaty is intended to sit alongside the Timor Sea Treaty and Sunrise IUA. Together they underpin stable legal and fiscal regimes for the exploration and exploitation of petroleum resources in the Timor Sea between Australia and East Timor to the benefit of both countries."

"The Treaties Committee welcomes submissions from individuals and organisations with an interest in the Timor Sea treaties," Andrew Southcott, Chair of the Treaties Committee said.

Submissions can be made until 16 March 2007. More information on the Committee's inquiry, including the treaty text and national interest analysis, is available on the Committee's website:

www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/6_7_february2007/tor.htm

Or by contacting the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4002.

MEDIA CONTACTS		
Media contacts:	David Colmer (Dr Southcott's Office)	(02) 6277 4283 or 0412 550 946
	Michael Watts (Mr Wilkie's Office)	(02) 6277 2255 or 0419 993 677
Background:	James Rees (Committee Secretary)	(02) 6277 4642