

Australian Government

Department of the Environment and Heritage

Our reference: 2006/01655

Dr Andrew Southcott MP Chair Joint Standing Committee on Treaties Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Submission 5 TT 28 March 2006

Dear Dr Southcott

I refer to the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties (JSCOT) hearing of 8 May 2006 into Treaties tabled on 28 March 2006. This letter provides responses to those questions I took on notice during the proceedings as well as providing a minor correction to the Proof Committee Hansard.

In response to a question from the Hon Dick Adams MP, regarding the possible dumping of wire cables around Australia's coastline, I can advise that following consultation with state and territory authorities, the Department of the Environment and Heritage (DEH) is not aware of any dumping of wire cables around the coastline of Australia.

In response to questions asked by you and Senator Wortley regarding the level of consultation on the plastic coated wire amendment I can confirm that DEH did consult with the states and territories and environment and industry stakeholder groups through the Hazardous Waste Act Policy Reference Group (PRG). The list of PRG representatives with whom DEH consulted and the amended Hansard are provided as attachments to this letter.

I have also enclosed a copy of the draft Hansard with corrections marked.

Should you have any questions regarding this correspondence please do not hesitate to contact me on (02) 6274 2604.

Yours sincerely

Mary Hansond

Mary Harwood First Assistant Secretary Environment Quality Division 23 May 2006



GPO Box 787 Canberra ACT 2601 Telephone 02 6274 1111 Facsimile 02 6274 1123

Internet: www.deh.gov.au





ATTACHMENT

Membership of the Policy Reference Group

At the time of consultation, the Hazardous Waste Policy Reference Group (PRG) consisted of the following representatives from each state and territory government:

- Environment ACT,
- The Northern Territory Department of Natural Resources, Environment and Arts,
- The Queensland Environment Protection Agency,
- The New South Wales Environment Protection Authority,
- The South Australia Environment Protection Authority,
- The Tasmania Department of Primary Industry and Water,
- The Victoria Environment Protection Authority,
- The Western Australia Department of Environment; and
- Norfolk Island Government.

The PRG also included the following environment and industry stakeholder groups and Commonwealth departments and agencies;

- The National Occupation Health and Safety Commission,
- Australian Customs Service,
- The Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources,
- The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade,
- Attorney General's Department,
- Environment Victoria,
- Friends of the Earth,
- Office of Regulation Review,
- Australian Refined Alloys,
- Telesolutions Pty Ltd,
- Minerals Council of Australia,
- Pasminco,
- Plastic and Chemicals Industries Association,
- Australian Conservation Foundation,
- Office of Regulation Review,
- Smorgan Steel Recycling,
- URS Corporation,
- Macquarie University,
- Conservation Council of South Australia,
- Powertel Limited (PWT) Australia,
- Exide Technologies; and
- Australian Aluminium Council.





ME