The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

#### Report 98

#### Treaties tabled on 26 November 2008 and 4 December 2008

Agreement between the Government of Australia and the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation on the Security of Information, New York, 26 September 2007

Amendment, Adopted 17 November 2008, to Annex I of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) International Convention Against Doping in Sport of 19 October 2005

Amendment, Adopted 17 November 2008, to Annex II of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) International Convention Against Doping in Sport of 19 October 2005

March 2009 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2009 ISBN 978 0 642 79158 0 (printed version) ISBN 978 0 642 79159 7 (HTML version)

# Contents

Men	nbership of the Committee	V
Res	olution of Appointment	vii
List	of abbreviations	viii
List	of recommendations	ix
1	Introduction	1
	Purpose of the Report	1
	Conduct of the Committee's Review	2
2	Agreement between the Government of Australia and the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation on the Security of Information	3
	Introduction	3
	Obligations	3
	Reasons for Australia to take treaty action	4
	Implementation	5
	Costs	6
	Future Treaty Action	6
	Consultation	7
	Conclusion and recommendation	7
Ар	pendix A - Submissions	9
Ар	pendix B - Witnesses	11

iv

Appendix C – Minor Treaty Actions	13
Treaties tabled on 4 December 2008	13
Appendix D – Minor treaty action referred prior to tabling	15
Proposal to amend Annex 1 of the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and	
Petrels	15

#### **Membership of the Committee**

Chair	Mr Kelvin 7	Thomson MP
-------	-------------	------------

Deputy Chair Senator Julian McGauran

Members Mr Jamie Briggs MP

Mr John Forrest MP

Ms Jill Hall MP

Mrs Julia Irwin MP (from 5/2/09)

Ms Belinda Neal MP

Ms Melissa Parke MP

Mr Luke Simpkins MP

Mr Chris Trevor MP (until 5/2/09)

Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP

Senator Simon Birmingham

Senator Michaelia Cash

Senator Don Farrell

Senator Scott Ludlam

Senator Louise Pratt

Senator Dana Wortley

#### vi

#### **Committee Secretariat**

Secretary	Jerome Brown
Inquiry Secretaries	Sonya Fladun
	Julia Searle
Research Officer	Geoff Wells
Administrative Officers	Heidi Luschtinetz (from 19/1/09)
	Dorota Cooley

#### **Resolution of Appointment**

The Resolution of Appointment of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties allows it to inquire into and report on:

- a) matters arising from treaties and related National Interest Analyses and proposed treaty actions and related Explanatory Statements presented or deemed to be presented to the Parliament;
- b) any question relating to a treaty or other international instrument, whether or not negotiated to completion, referred to the committee by:
  - (i) either House of the Parliament, or
  - (ii) a Minister; and

such other matters as may be referred to the committee by the Minister for Foreign Affairs and on such conditions as the Minister may prescribe.

## List of abbreviations

ACAP	Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels
DSA	Defence Security Authority
NATO	North Atlantic Treaty Organisation
NIA	National Interest Analysis
UNESCO	United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation

### List of recommendations

2 Agreement between the Government of Australia and the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation on the Security of Information

**Recommendation 1** 

The Committee supports the *Agreement between the Government of Australia and the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation on the Security of Information* and recommends that binding treaty action be taken.