

Issued: 9 October 2006

Chair: Dr Andrew Southcott MP Deputy Chair: Mr Kim Wilkie MP

Treaties Committee supports Agreement with USA on Scientific and Technical cooperation

The Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties, Dr Andrew Southcott MP today tabled *Report* 77 in federal parliament. This report includes the recommendation that Australia ratify the agreement between Australia and the United States of America on scientific and technical cooperation.

The agreement is expected to expand opportunities for both countries within the science and technology sectors, with mutually determined agency-to-agency collaborating for peaceful purposes. Activities include but are not limited to: joint research projects, training of scientists and technical experts, visits and exchanges of individual scientists, engineers and other appropriate personnel, exchanges of information on activities, policies, practices, laws and regulations concerning research and development.

"The Agreement, by establishing guiding principles, will provide for shared responsibility in collaborative activities and the equitable sharing of costs and benefits. " believes Dr Southcott, "The Agreement will also expand opportunities for collaboration between agencies and serve to enhance research links between Australia and the US. " he said.

In addition to the above treaty action, *Report 77: Treaties tabled on 20 June and 8 August 2006* outlines the Committee's review and recommendations that binding treaty action be taken in relation to five other treaties. These are: Amendments to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material; an Agreement with Japan to replace the Delineated and Recorded Japanese Nuclear Fuel Cycle Program; Amendments to the Australia-United States and the Singapore-Australia Free Trade Agreements to comply with changes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System; and International Health Regulations (2005).

Report 77 is available on the Committee's website: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/jsct/report.htm</u> or by contacting the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4002.

MEDIA CONTACTS			
Media contacts:	Wayne Arbon	(Dr Southcott's Office)	(02) 6277 4283 or 0433 311 525
	Michael Watts	(Mr Wilkie's Office)	(02) 6277 2255 or 0419 993 677
Background:	James Rees	(Committee Secretary)	(02) 6277 4642