## SUBMISSION NO. 14 TT on 12 March 2013

## Status of Australia's Free Trade Agreement (FTA) partners with respect to ILO Convention on Labour Inspection (Agriculture) (No. 129) and Minimum Age Convention (No. 138)

It should be noted that not all ILO Conventions are directly relevant to Australia's obligations under FTAs. Only a limited number of Australian FTAs in force include labour provisions (marked with \* in this table). Labour provisions commonly include reference to the *1998 ILO Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work and its Follow-Up* (FPRW Declaration) which includes the eradication of child labour. Some FTAs currently being negotiated, such as the Trans Pacific Partnership, also reference the FPRW Declaration.

The majority of Australia's FTA partners have ratified Convention 138 as outlined below. None have ratified Convention 129.

FTA	Partner	C138
ASEAN-Australia- New Zealand FTA		
	Brunei	ratified 17 June 2011
	Cambodia	ratified 23 August 1999
	Indonesia	ratified 7 June 1999
	Laos	ratified 13 June 2005
	Malaysia	ratified 9 September 1997
	Myanmar	-
	New Zealand	-
	The Philippines	ratified 4 June 1998
	Singapore	ratified 7 November 2005
	Thailand	ratified 11 May 2004
	Vietnam	ratified 24 June 2003
Australia-Chile FTA* (Reference to labour is limited to cooperation on labour matters of mutual interest).		
	Chile	ratified 1 February 1999
Malaysia-Australia FTA		
	Malaysia	ratified 9 September 1997
Australia-New Zealand Closer Economic Relations		
	New Zealand	-

FTA	Partner	C138
Singapore-Australia FTA		
	Singapore	ratified 7 November 2005
Thailand-Australia FTA		
	Thailand	ratified 11 May 2004
Australia-United States FTA*		
	United States	-
Australia-China FTA		
	China	ratified 28 April 1999
Australia-Gulf Cooperation Council FTA		
	Bahrain	ratified 7 March 2012
	Kuwait	ratified 15 November 1999
	Oman	ratified 21 July 2005
	Qatar	ratified 3 January 2006
	Saudia Arabia	-
	United Arab Emirates	ratified 2 October 1998
Australia-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement		
	India	-
Australia-Indonesia Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement		
<u> </u>	Indonesia	ratified 7 June 1999
Australia-Japan FTA		
1	Japan	ratified 5 June 2000
Australia-Korea FTA		
	Republic of Korea	ratified 28 June 1999
Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus		
	Cook Islands	(not an ILO member)
	Federated States of Micronesia	(not an ILO member)

FTA	Partner	C138
	Kiribati	ratified 17 June 2009
	Nauru	(not an ILO member)
	New Zealand	-
	Niue	(not an ILO member)
	Palau	-
	Papua New Guinea	ratified 2 June 2000
	Republic of Marshall Islands	-
	Samoa	ratified 29 October 2008
	Solomon Islands	ratified 22 April 2013
	Tonga	(not an ILO member)
	Tuvalu	-
	Vanuatu	-
Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership		
	China	ratified 28 April 1999
	Brunei	ratified 17 June 2011
	Cambodia	ratified 23 August 1999
	Indonesia	ratified 7 June 1999
	India	-
	Japan	ratified 5 June 2000
	Republic of Korea	ratified 28 June 1999
	Laos	ratified 13 June 2005
	Malaysia	ratified 9 September 1997
	Myanmar	-
	New Zealand	-
	The Philippines	ratified 4 June 1998
	Singapore	ratified 7 November 2005
	Thailand	ratified 11 May 2004
	Vietnam	ratified 24 June 2003

FTA	Partner	C138
Trans-Pacific Partnership*		
	Brunei	ratified 17 June 2011
	Canada	-
	Chile	ratified 1 February 1999
	Japan	ratified 5 June 2000
	Malaysia	ratified 9 September 1997
	Mexico	-
	New Zealand	-
	Peru	ratified 13 November 2002
	Singapore	ratified 7 November 2005
	United States	-
	Vietnam	ratified 24 June 2003