The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Report 118

Treaties tabled on 23 March and 11 May 2011

Resolution MEPC.189(60), Adopted on 26 March 2010 Amendments to the Annex of the Protocol of 1978 Relating to the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships, 1973

Protocol on Investment to the Australia - New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement

August 2011 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2011 ISBN 978-0-642-79540-3 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79541-0 (HTML version)

Contents

Mer	nbership of the Committeev		
Resolution of Appointmentvii			
List	List of recommendations		
1	Introduction		
	Purpose of the report1		
	Conduct of the Committee's review2		
2 Resolution MEPC.189(60), Adopted on 26 March 2010: Amendments to Annex of the Protocol of 1978 Relating to the International Convention the Prevention of Pollution from Ships, 1973			
	Introduction5		
	Impact on Australia7		
	Impact on the Australian Antarctic Division7		
	Submission relating to Port Phillip Bay8		
	Conclusion9		
3	Protocol on Investment to the Australia - New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement		
	Background11		
	Treatment of Foreign Investment13		
	The Protocol on Investment		

1	v

Dissenting Report — The Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP and Mr John Forrest MP	.21
Additional Comments – Senator the Hon Helen Coonan	.25
Appendix A — Submissions	.29
Appendix B — Witnesses	.31

Membership of the Committee

Chair	Mr Kelvin Thomson MP	
Deputy Chair	Senator Julian McGauran (until 30/6/11)	
Members	Ms Sharon Bird MP	Senator Simon Birmingham
	Mr Jamie Briggs MP	Senator Michaelia Cash (until 7/7/11)
	Mr John Forrest MP	Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (from 1/7/11)
	Ms Sharon Grierson MP	Senator Scott Ludlam
	Ms Kirsten Livermore MP	Senator Kerry O'Brien (until 30/6/11)
	Ms Melissa Parke MP	Senator Louise Pratt (until 30/6/11)
	Ms Michelle Rowland MP	Senator the Hon Lisa Singh (from 1/7/11)
	The Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP	Senator Matthew Thistlethwaite (from 1/7/11)
		Senator Anne Urquhart (from 1/7/11)
		Senator Dana Wortley (until 30/6/11)

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	James Catchpole
Inquiry Secretary	Kevin Bodel
	Andrew Gaczol
Administrative Officers	Heidi Luschtinetz
	Michaela Whyte

Resolution of Appointment

The Resolution of Appointment of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties allows it to inquire into and report on:

- a) matters arising from treaties and related National Interest Analyses and proposed treaty actions and related Explanatory Statements presented or deemed to be presented to the Parliament;
- b) any question relating to a treaty or other international instrument, whether or not negotiated to completion, referred to the committee by:
 - (i) either House of the Parliament, or
 - (ii) a Minister; and
- c) such other matters as may be referred to the committee by the Minister for Foreign Affairs and on such conditions as the Minister may prescribe.

List of recommendations

2 Resolution MEPC.189(60), Adopted on 26 March 2010: Amendments to the Annex of the Protocol of 1978 Relating to the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships, 1973

Recommendation 1

The Committee supports *Resolution MEPC.189(60)*, *Adopted on 26 March 201: Amendments to the Annex of the Protocol of 1978 Relating to the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships*, 1973 and recommends that binding treaty action be taken.

3 Protocol on Investment to the Australia - New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement

Recommendation 2

The Committee supports the *Protocol on Investment to the Australia - New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement* and recommends that binding treaty action be taken.