

J. AUSTRALIA

Issued: 22 March 2012

Joint Select Committee on Cyber-Safety

Chair: Senator Catryna Bilyk Deputy Chair: Mr Alex Hawke MP

Cyber-Safety Committee in Sydney for NSW Seniors Week

Older Australians are being recognised this week for their achievements and social contributions during New South Wales Seniors Week. Federal Parliament's Cyber-Safety Committee will mark the occasion by holding a public hearing for its inquiry into cybersafety for senior Australians in Sydney on Friday 23 March.

Australia's Age Discrimination Commissioner, Susan Ryan, will start the day by focussing on the fundamental issues of equity and access for older Australians as Australia's economy goes online.

Older Australians are the fastest growing group of internet users but according to the peak seniors' body the Australian Seniors Computer Clubs Association the demographic is still vastly underrepresented.

The Committee Chair Senator Catryna Bilyk said: "The Committee has been impressed by the number of dynamic online seniors and by the activities of volunteer organisations like the Australian Seniors Computer Clubs Association (ASSCA) which has over 156 member computer clubs."

"The ASCCA estimates that more than 150,000 seniors have already learned how to use a computer through ASCCA's peer assisted learning programs. President Nan Bosler, who will represent the Association on Friday, knows the benefits of the internet for seniors and also the risks," Senator Bilyk said.

The Committee will also hear from the National E-Health Transition Authority, Telstra, the Communications Law Centre, and the Australian Communications and Media Authority.

The Committee's public hearing on Friday 23 March 2012 will commence at 10.00am in the Macquarie Room, Parliament of New South Wales, Macquarie St, Sydney.

Audio of the proceedings will be webcast on: http://www.aph.gov.au/News_and_Events/Watch_Parliament.

Further information on the public hearing and the inquiry is available from the Committee's inquiry link at: www.aph.gov.au/cybersafety-seniors.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Media comment: contact the Committee Chair Senator Catryna Bilyk on (02) 6277 3349 or mobile 0419 694 512 Background: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 4202