

Issued: 15 March 2013

Chair: Senator Matt Thistlethwaite

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON BROADCASTING LEGISLATION

INQUIRY INTO BROADCASTING LEGISLATION

COMMITTEE APPOINTED TO INVESTIGATE BROADCASTING LEGISLATION

The Parliament has appointed a committee to inquire into potential areas for future reform of Australia's broadcasting legislation. The Committee has been charged specifically with investigating:

- 1. the abolition of the 75 per cent rule, particularly to regional and local news;
- 2. whether the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) should be required to examine program supply agreements for news and current affairs when determining whether a person is in control of a commercial television broadcasting service; and
- 3. on air reporting of ACMA findings regarding Broadcasting regulation breaches.

The Committee will be conducting a public hearing on Monday, 18 March 2013 to address the first term of reference: the abolition of the 75 per cent rule. Submissions directly related to this issue are invited by 12pm on Monday, 18 March 2013.

Committee Chair Senator Matt Thistlethwaite said 'While the Committee has until June to make its full findings, I felt it was essential to give Senators and Members an opportunity to fully understand the issues of concern regarding the 75 per cent rule prior to the legislation being debated in Parliament.' Senator Thistlethwaite added, 'While the committee is holding a preliminary hearing on Monday focussing on the 75 per cent rule, submissions are still welcome on this and the Committee's other terms of reference, more information will be available on the Committee's website.'

Public hearing:

Date:	Monday, 18 March 2013
Venue:	Committee Rom 2S1, Parliament House, Canberra
Time:	8.00am – 12.00pm
Webcast:	Live on http://www.aph.gov.au/News and Events/Watch Parliament
Program:	ТВА

For media comment: contact the Chair's media advisor, Nick Moncrieff-Hill, 0408 687 497. **For information on the inquiry:** contact the Secretariat on (02) 6277 2044, email jscbl@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee website at http://www.aph.gov.au/jscbl