С

Appendix C – Current WTO members

Table C.1 **Current WTO members**

146 governments, as on 4 April 2003, with date of membership ("g" = the 51 original GATT members who joined after 1 January 1995; "n" = new members joining the WTO through a working party negotiation):

Albania 8 September 2000 (n) Angola 1 December 1996 (g) Antigua and Barbuda 1 January 1995 Argentina 1 January 1995 Armenia 5 February 2003 (n) Australia 1 January 1995 Austria 1 January 1995 Bahrain 1 January 1995 Bangladesh 1 January 1995 Barbados 1 January 1995 Belgium 1 January 1995 Belize 1 January 1995 Benin 22 February 1996 (g) Bolivia 13 September 1995 (g) Botswana 31 May 1995 (g) Brazil 1 January 1995 Brunei Darussalam 1 January 1995 Bulgaria 1 December 1996 (n) Burkina Faso 3 June 1995 (g) Burundi 23 July 1995 (g) Cameroon 13 December 1995 (g) Canada 1 January 1995 Central African Republic 31 May 1995 (g) Chad 19 October 1996 (g) Chile 1 January 1995 China 11 December 2001 (n) Colombia 30 April 1995 (g) Congo 27 March 1997 (g) Costa Rica 1 January 1995 Côte d'Ivoire 1 January 1995 Croatia 30 November 2000 (n) Cuba 20 April 1995 (g) Cyprus 30 July 1995 (g) Czech Republic 1 January 1995 Democratic Republic of the Congo 1 January 1997 (g) Denmark 1 January 1995 Djibouti 31 May 1995 (g) Dominica 1 January 1995 Dominican Republic 9 March 1995 (g) Ecuador 21 January 1996 (n) Egypt 30 June 1995 (g) El Salvador 7 May 1995 (g) Estonia 13 November 1999 (n) European Union 1 January 1995 Fiji 14 January 1996 (g) Finland 1 January 1995 Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia 4 April 2003 (n) France 1 January 1995

Observers

Algeria Andorra Azerbaijan Bahamas Belarus Bhutan Bosnia and Herzegovina Cambodia Cape Verde Equatorial Guinea

Gabon 1 January 1995 Gambia 23 October 1996 (g) Georgia 14 June 2000 (n) Germany 1 January 1995 Ghana 1 January 1995 Greece 1 January 1995 Grenada 22 February 1996 (g) Guatemala 21 July 1995 (g) Guinea Bissau 31 May 1995 (g) Guinea 25 October 1995 (g) Guyana 1 January 1995 Haiti 30 January 1996 (g) Honduras 1 January 1995 Hong Kong, China 1 January 1995 Hungary 1 January 1995 Iceland 1 January 1995 India 1 January 1995 Indonesia 1January 1995 Ireland 1 January 1995 Israel 21 April 1995 (g) Italy 1 January 1995 Jamaica 9 March 1995 (g) Jordan 11 April 2000 (n) Japan 1 January 1995 Kenya 1 January 1995 Korea 1 January 1995 Kuwait 1 January 1995 Kyrgyz Republic 20 December 1998 (n) Latvia 10 February 1999 (n) Lesotho 31 May 1995 (g) Liechtenstein 1 September 1995 (g) Lithuania 31 May 2001 (n) Luxembourg 1 January 1995 Macao, China 1 January 1995 Madagascar 17 November 1995 (g) Malawi 31 May 1995 (g) Malaysia 1 January 1995 Maldives 31 May 1995 (g) Mali 31 May 1995 (g) Malta 1 January 1995 Mauritania 31 May 1995 (g) Mauritius 1 January 1995 Mexico 1 January 1995 Moldova 26 July 2001 (n) Mongolia 29 January 1997 (n) Morocco 1 January 1995 Mozambique 26 Áugust 1995 (g) Myanmar 1 January 1995 Namibia 1 January 1995 Netherlands — including Netherlands Antilles 1 January 1995

New Zealand 1 January 1995 Nicaragua 3 September 1995 (g) Niger 13 December 1996 (g) Nigeria 1 January 1995 Norway 1 January 1995 Oman 9 November 2000 (n) Pakistan 1 January 1995 Panama 6 September 1997 (n) Papua New Guinea 9 June 1996 (g) Paraguay 1 January 1995 Peru 1 January 1995 Philippines 1 January 1995 Poland 1 July 1995 (g) Portugal 1 January 1995 Qatar 13 January 1996 (g) Romania 1 January 1995 Rwanda 22 May 1996 (g) Saint Kitts and Nevis 21 February 1996 (n) Saint Lucia 1 January 1995 Saint Vincent & the Grenadines 1 January 1995 Senegal 1 January 1995 Sierra Leone 23 July 1995 (g) Singapore 1 January 1995 Slovak Republic 1 January 1995 Slovenia 30 July 1995 (g) Solomon Islands 26 July 1996 (g) South Africa 1 January 1995 Spain 1 January 1995 Sri Lanka 1 January 1995 Suriname 1 January 1995 Swaziland 1 January 1995 Sweden 1 January 1995 Switzerland 1 July 1995 (g) Chinese Taipei 1 January 2002 (n) Tanzania 1 January 1995 Thailand 1 January 1995 Togo 31 May 1995 (g) Trinidad and Tobago 1 March 1995 (g) Tunisia 29 March 1995 (g) Turkey 26 March 1995 (g) Uganda 1 January 1995 United Arab Emirates 10 April 1996 (g) United Kingdom 1 January 1995 United States 1 January 1995 Uruguay 1 January 1995 Venezuela 1 January 1995 Zambia 1 January 1995 Zimbabwe 3 March 1995 (g)

Serbia and Montenegro Seychelles Sudan Lao People's Democratic Republic Tajikistan Tonga Ukraine Uzbekistan Vanuatu Viet Nam Yemen

Note: With the exception of the Holy See, observers must start accession negotiations within five years of becoming observers.

Source Understanding the WTO¹

http://www.wto.org/english/thewto_e/whatis_e/tif_e/tif_e.htm 1

Ethiopia

Nepal

Samoa

Saudi Arabia

Kazakhstan

Holy See (Vatican)

Lebanese Republic

Russian Federation

Sao Tome and Principe