# С

# Appendix C – Witnesses appearing at public hearings

# Canberra, 10 February 2012

# Australian Customs and Border Protection Service

Mr Troy Czabania, National Manager, Corporate Governance and International Strategy Mr Murray Edwards, Director, International

Ms Georgina Harrison, Acting Director, Strategy, Bilaterals and Posts Mr Michael Edwards, Chief Operating Officer

# Australian Trade Commission

Mr Peter Grey, Chief Executive Officer Ms Leanne Joyce, Group Manager, Promotions and Communications Ms Marcia Kimball, Chief Human Resources and Change Management Officer Mr Robert O'Meara, Chief Finance Officer Mr Laurie Smith, Executive Director, International Operations

# Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Ms Jo Evans, First Assistant Secretary, Trade and Market Access Division Mr Phillip Glyde, Deputy Secretary Mr Greg Williamson, First Assistant Secretary, Biosecurity Division

# Department of Defence

Mr Peter Jennings, Deputy Secretary, Strategy Mr Neil Orme, First Assistant Secretary, International Policy

# **Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade**

Mr Dennis Richardson, Secretary Mr Christos Moraitis, First Assistant Secretary, Corporate Management Division

#### Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Ms Vicki Parker, First Assistant Secretary, Border Security, Refugee and International Division Mr Peter Vardos, Deputy Secretary

Mr Jim Williams, Assistant Secretary, Offshore Biometrics and Operations Branch

#### Department of Innovation, Industry, Science, Research and Tertiary Education

Ms Anne-Marie Lansdown, Head, Science and Infrastructure Mr Colin Walters, Head, International Education Division

# Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Committee, ACT Branch, Australian Labor Party

Mr Andrew Carr, Deputy Convenor

#### **Migration Institute of Australia**

Ms Maurene Horder, Chief Executive Officer Mr John Hourigan, Member

# Canberra, 17 February 2012

# AusAID

Mr Peter Baxter, Director General Mr Ian Davies, Assistant Director General, Property and Financial Management Mr Robert Tranter, Assistant Director General, Human Resources

# Australia Gulf Council

The Hon. Michael Yabsley, Chief Executive Ms Georgie Skipper, Director, Government and Corporate Affairs

# Australian Electoral Commission

Mr Ed Killesteyn, Electoral Commissioner Ms Marie Neilson, Assistant Commissioner, Elections Branch Mr Thomas Rogers, Deputy Commissioner

# Australian Federal Police

Ms Amanda Kates, Acting Manager, International Network Mr Ian McCartney, Acting National Manager, Serious and Organised Crime Mr Peter Whowell, Manager, Government Relations

#### Australian Federation of Ukrainian Organisations

Mr Stefan Romaniw, OAM, Chairman

#### Private capacity

Mr Fergus Edward Hanson, Visiting Fellow in e-diplomacy, Brookings Institution

#### **Embassy of the Kingdom of Morocco**

His Excellency Mr Mohamed Mael-Ainin, Ambassador Mr Abedelkader Jamoussi, Deputy Head of Mission

#### **Embassy of Ukraine**

Mr Stanislav Stashevskyi, Charge d'Affaires

#### Lowy Institute for International Policy

Ms Alex Oliver, Research Fellow Mr Andrew Shearer, Director of Studies; Senior Research Fellow

#### Melbourne, 23 February 2012

#### ANZ Banking Group Limited

Mr Alex Thursby, CEO, Asia Pacific, Europe and America Mr Michael Johnston, Head of Government and Regulatory Affairs

#### **Committee for Melbourne**

Mr Nathan Stribley, Policy Manager

#### Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Mr Geoff Coates, Executive General Manager, Indonesia

#### **United Macedonian Diaspora**

Mr Ordan Andreevski, Director, Australian Outreach

#### Private capacity

Professor John Vance Langmore, Professor, School of Social and Political Sciences, University of Melbourne

#### Canberra, 27 February 2012

#### Australia Africa Mining Industry Group

Mr Jeff Hart, Special Adviser

#### **Australian Industry Group**

Mr Innes Willox, Chief Executive Designate and Director, International and Government Relations

# Canberra, 19 March 2012

# Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Tuan Dao, Chief Information Officer Mr Christos Moraitis, First Assistant Secretary, Corporate Management Division Mr Dennis Richardson, Secretary