The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Advisory Report on the Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill 2011

Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

June 2012 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2012

ISBN 978-0-642-79689-9 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79690-5 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

Contents

Membership of the Committee	V
Membership of the Trade Sub-Committee	vii
Terms of reference	ix
List of abbreviations	x
List of recommendations	xi
1 Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill 2011	1
Referral of the inquiry	1
Previous inquiries	1
Conduct of the inquiry	2
Overview of the bill	3
Key issues	5
Background	5
International implications	7
Regulations	13
Potential prosecution in initial two year period	19
Possible impacts on timber exporting countries	21
Consultation on regulations	21
Illegally logged definition	23
Concluding comments	24
Minority Report—Coalition Senators and Members	29
Additional comments—Australian Greens	35

Appendix A – List of Submissions	37
Appendix B – List of Hearings and Witnesses	
Canberra, Wednesday, 9 May 2012	

Membership of the Committee

Chair Mr Michael Danby MP

Deputy Chair Mrs Joanna Gash MP

Senator Mark Bishop Members Senator the Hon John Faulkner (from 30/09/10 to 14/02/11) Senator David Fawcett (from 1/07/11) Senator the Hon Alan Ferguson (to 30/06/11) Senator Mark Furner Senator Sarah Hanson-Young Senator the Hon David Johnston Senator Scott Ludlam Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald Senator Anne McEwen (from 1/07/11) Senator Claire Moore Senator Kerry O'Brien (from 14/02/11 to 30/06/11) Senator Stephen Parry (from 1/07/11) Senator Marise Payne Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens (from 1/07/11) Senator Russell Trood (to 30/06/11)

Hon Dick Adams MP (from 24/03/11) Hon Julie Bishop MP

Ms Gai Brodtmann MP Hon Anthony Byrne MP (to 14/03/12) Mr Nick Champion MP Hon Laurie Ferguson, MP Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP Mr Steve Georganas MP (to 24/03/11) Mr Steve Gibbons MP (to 7/02/12) Hon Alan Griffin MP Mr Harry Jenkins MP (from 7/02/12) Dr Dennis Jensen MP Hon Robert McClelland MP (from 14/03/12) Mrs Sophie Mirabella MP Hon John Murphy MP Mr Ken O'Dowd MP (from 25/10/10) Ms Melissa Parke MP Mr Stuart Robert MP Hon Philip Ruddock MP Ms Janelle Saffin MP Hon Bruce Scott MP Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP (from 25/10/10) Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP

Membership of the Trade Sub-Committee

Chair Ms Janelle Saffin MP

Deputy Chair Hon Bruce Scott MP

Members Senator Scott Ludlam Mrs Joanna Gash MP (ex officio) Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald Mr Harry Jenkins MP Mrs Sophie Mirabella MP Senator Stephen Parry Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens Hon John Murphy MP Hon Dick Adams MP Mr Ken O'Dowd MP Ms Melissa Parke MP Hon Julie Bishop MP Mr Michael Danby MP (ex officio) Hon Philip Ruddock MP Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP

Committee Secretariat

Mr Jerome Brown
Ms Julia Searle
Ms Jessica Butler
Mrs Emma Black

Mrs Sonya Gaspar

Terms of reference

On 22 March 2012, the Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill 2011 was referred to the Committee by the Selection Committee of the House of Representatives.

The Selection Committee's report stated the following reason for referral:

Concern over the international implications of the bill which have been expressed by Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea in their submissions to the Senate Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport Legislation Committee inquiry.¹

List of abbreviations

APEC	Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
ASEAN	Association of Southeast Asian Nations
DAFF	Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
DFAT	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
EU	European Union
PNGFIA	Papua New Guinea Forest Industries Association
VPA	Voluntary Partnership Agreement
WTO	World Trade Organization

List of recommendations

1 Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill 2011

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends that the Government continues to consult closely with the Governments of Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea and other relevant stakeholders on implementation of the bill and the development of subordinate legislation.

Recommendation 2

The Committee recommends that the Government facilitate Malaysia and Papua New Guinea's representation on the Illegal Logging Working Group convened by the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

Recommendation 3

The Committee recommends that the *Illegal Logging Prohibition Bill* 2011 be passed.