The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Defence Sub-Committee Visit to East Timor

5 August 2009

Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

February 2010 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2009 ISBN 978-0-642-79262-4 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-0-642-79263-1 (HTML version)

Cover photo caption

A group of Timor Leste trainees at the Metinaro Training Centre

(Photo courtesy of WGCDR David Ashworth, Defence Adviser to the Defence Sub-Committee, Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade)

Contents

Foreword v
Membership of the Committeevii
Membership of the Defenceix
Sub -Committeeix
Visit Participantsxi
List of abbreviationsxiii
1 East Timor1
Arrival and initial briefing1
Defence Co-operation Program briefing2
International Stabilisation Force3
F-FDTL Training Centre Metinaro3
Conclusion5
Appendix A – Tour Program7
5 August 20097

Figure 1	LTCOL Steve Ferndale welcomes the Committee to the Defence Co-operation	
	Centre in Dili	. 2
Figure 2	The Hon Arch Bevis MP, The Hon Bob Baldwin MP, Mr Michael Danby MP and Senator	
	Scott Ludlum receiving a briefing on the new facilities at Metinaro	. 4
Figure 3	Defence Sub-Committee members having an informal meeting with trainees at the	
	English Language training facility at Metinaro	. 5
Figure 4	The Committee being briefed by the Commandant of the Timor Leste Defence Force	
	Training Centre at Metinaro	. 6

Foreword

On 5 August 2009 fourteen members of the Defence Sub-Committee of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs Defence and Trade visited Timor Leste. The focus of the visit was the contribution being made by the Australian Defence Force to the current and future security of the country.

In view of the Committee's focus on nation building and self-sufficiency within the defence and security context, the Committee elected to visit Joint Task Force 631, the Defence Co-operation Program and the Timor Leste Defence Force Training Centre at Metinaro.

This visit enabled the Committee to gain an appreciation of how far Timor Leste has progressed since our previous visit in 2003. It is clear that with the support of several nations and a significant number of NGOs the country is making steady progress supported by a more stable security environment, following the tragic recurrence of violence in 2006.

It was clear to the Committee that the Defence Co-operation Program holds the key to a professionally trained organic Defence capability. The long term goal of enabling the country one day to contribute capability to support others overseas is a laudable aim.

On behalf of the Committee, I would like to thank the Ambassador, Mr Peter Heyward, and his staff at the Australian Embassy Dili, the ADF staff at the Defence Cooperation Program and Brigadier Bill Sowry and the members of Joint Task Force 631. Their support and assistance ensured that this was a productive and informative visit.

The Committee is indebted to the Prime Minister for approving the visit and to the Minister for Defence for the allocation of an aircraft from No 34 Squadron of the Royal Australian Air Force without which the visit could not have been achieved.

Membership of the Committee

Chair Senator M Forshaw

Deputy Chair The Hon D Hawker MP

Members	Senator M Arbib (from 01/07/08 till 11/09/09) Senator A Bartlett (till 30/06/08) Senator M Bishop Senator M Cormann (till 23/09/08) Senator A Eggleston (till 19/03/08) Senator A Eggleston (till 19/03/08) Senator the Hon A Ferguson (from 01/07/08) Senator M Fifield Senator M Furner (from 16/03/09) Senator S Hanson-Young (from 04/12/08) Senator the Hon D Johnston (from 23/09/08)	The Hon J Bishop MP (from 11/03/09) Mr M Danby MP The Hon J Fitzgibbon MP (from 15/06/09) Ms A Ellis MP Mr S W Gibbons MP Ms S Grierson MP Mr D Hale MP The Hon I Macfarlane MP Mrs L Markus MP (from 25/09/08) Ms S Mirabella MP (till 11/03/09) The Hon J Murphy MP (from 20/03/09) Mr R Oakeshott MP(from 20/03/09)
	Senator L J Kirk (till 30/06/08) Senator S Ludlum (from 26/11/08) Senator the Hon J A L (Sandy) Macdonald (till 30/06/08) Senator C M Moore Senator K O'Brien (from 01/07/08) Senator M Payne (from 19/03/08) Senator N Stott Despoja (till 30/06/08) Senator R Trood Senator R S Webber (till 30/06/08) The Hon B Baldwin MP The Hon A Bevis MP	Ms M Parke MP Ms K Rea MP Mr B Ripoll MP The Hon A Robb AO MP (till 25/09/08) Mr S Robert MP The Hon P Ruddock MP Ms J Saffin MP The Hon B Scott MP Mr K Thomson MP (till 15/06/09) Ms M Vamvakinou MP

Dr M Kerley

viii

Membership of the Defence Sub -Committee

Chair The Hon A Bevis MP

Deputy Chair The Hon B Baldwin MP

Members

- Senator M Arbib (till 11/03/09) Senator M Bishop Senator the Hon A Ferguson Senator M Fifield Senator M Forshaw *(ex officio)* Senator M Furner (from 16/03/09) Senator the Hon D Johnston Senator S Ludlum Senator K O'Brien Senator M Payne Senator R Trood
- Mr M Danby MP The Hon J Fitzgibbon MP (from 15/06/09) Mr S W Gibbons MP Ms S Grierson MP Mr D Hale MP The Hon D Hawker MP (*ex officio*) The Hon I Macfarlane MP Mrs L Markus MP Ms S Mirabella MP(till 11/03/09) Mr R Oakeshott MP(from 20/03/09) Mr S Robert MP Ms J Saffin MP The Hon B Scott MP Mr K Thomson MP (till 15/06/09)

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Dr Margot Kerley
Defence Adviser	WGCDR David Ashworth
Officer Manager	Mrs Donna Quintus-Bosz
Administrative Officers	Mrs Sonya Gasper
	Ms Gillian Drew

Visit Participants

Chair The Hon A Bevis MP

Deputy Chair The Hon B Baldwin MP

Members

Senator M Bishop Senator the Hon A Ferguson Senator M Furner (from 16/03/09) Senator S Ludlum Senator K O'Brien The Hon B Scott MP Mr M Danby MP Ms S Grierson MP The Hon D Hawker MP *(ex officio)* The Hon I Macfarlane MP Mr S Robert MP Ms J Saffin MP

Defence Adviser

WGCDR David Ashworth

List of abbreviations

DCP	Defence Co-operation Program	
DCP HQ	Defence Co-operation Program Headquarters	
F-FDTL	Timor Leste Defence Force	
ISF	International Stabilisation Force	
ISF HQ	International Stabilisation Force Headquarters	