A

Appendix A – List of hearings and witnesses

Monday 15 December 2003 - Canberra

Department of Defence

Mr Shane CARMODY, Deputy Secretary, Strategic Policy Air Vice Marshal Kerry CLARKE, AM, Head, Capability Systems General Peter COSGROVE, AC, MC, Chief of the Defence Force Major General Ken GILLESPIE, AO, DSC, CSM, Head, Strategic Operations Air Marshal Angus HOUSTON, AO, AFC, Chief of Air Force Vice Admiral Chris RITCHIE, AO, RAN, Chief of Navy Major General Frank ROBERTS, AM, Deputy Chief of Army Ms Myra ROWLING, First Assistant Secretary, Strategic and International Policy Vice Admiral Russ SHALDERS, AO, CSC, RAN, Vice Chief of the Defence Force Mr Richard Campbell SMITH, AO, Secretary Brigadier Mike SWAN, Acting Head, National Operations Mr George VEITCH, First Assistant Secretary, Budgets and Financial Planning

Friday, 4 June 2004 - Canberra

Department of Defence

BROWN, Group Captain Geoffrey Charles, Officer Commanding, Airborne Early Warning and Control, System Project Office, Royal Australian Air Force

CARR, Mr David Noel John, Air Analyst, Air Operations Division, Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Department of Defence

CLARK, Dr Graham, Research Leader, Aircraft Structures, Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Department of Defence

CLARKE, Air Vice Marshal Kerry Francis, Head of Capability Systems, Royal Australian Air Force

HARVEY, Air Commodore John Paul, Director-General New Air Combat Capability, Department of Defence

HOUSTON, Air Marshal Allan Grant, Chief of Air Force, Royal Australian Air Force

MARTIN, Mr Colin Arthur, Chief of Air Operations Division, Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Department of Defence

MONAGHAN, Air Vice Marshal John Gordon, Head of Aerospace Systems Division, Royal Australian Air Force

Private capacity

KOPP, Dr Carlo GOON, Mr Peter Anthony

Monday, 2 August 2004 - Canberra

Department of Defence

HARVEY, Air Commodore John Paul, Director-General New Air Combat Capability, Department of Defence

HOUSTON, Air Marshal Allan Grant, Chief of Air Force, Royal Australian Air Force

MONAGHAN, Air Vice Marshal John Gordon, Head of Aerospace Systems Division, Royal Australian Air Force

BINSKIN, Air Commodore Mark, Commander Air Combat Group