D

Appendix D - Chronology of EU enlargement

1957	• Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands sign the Treaty of Rome and establish the European Economic Community (EEC)
1963	Association Agreement signed with Turkey
1973	• Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom join the EC
1981	• Greece joins the EC
1986	• Portugal and Spain join the EC
1988	 Assumption of diplomatic contact between the European Communities and Hungary. The first Trade and Co-operation Agreement signed with Hungary; similar agreements subsequently signed with the other countries of Central and Eastern Europe. Poland, Bulgaria and Hungary establish diplomatic relations with the EU.
1989	 Fall of the Berlin Wall European Community sets up the Programme of development assistance in CEECs
1990	Malta and Cyprus apply for EU membership
1991	 European Community recognises Croatia's independence Hostilities in Bosnia (1991-1995) The first Europe Agreements signed with Hungary and Poland (ratified in 1994); similar agreements subsequently signed with the other countries of Central and Eastern Europe Declaration of the Member States of the EC on the independence of the Baltic States
1992	 Slovenia establishes diplomatic relations with the EC Former Czechoslovakia, Hungary and Poland sign the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA).
1993	 CEFTA comes into force, eliminating duties on approximately 40 per cent of industrial goods. Romania signs a Europe Agreement Slovenia establishes diplomatic relations with the European Union Slovakia signs a Europe Agreement At Copenhagen the European Council sets accession criteria

	Bulgaria signs a Europe Agreement
1994	Essen European Council agrees the pre-accession strategyHungary applies for EU membership
1995	 Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU Romania applies for EU membership Lithuania and Latvia sign Europe Agreements Bulgaria applies for EU membership Latvia applies for EU membership Slovakia applies for EU membership
1996	 Slovenia and Czech Republic sign Europe Agreements Czech Republic applies for EU membership New Labour government in Malta suspends EU membership application Slovenia applies for EU membership Slovenia joins CEFTA as a full member.
1997	 Romania joins CEFTA Luxembourg European Council agrees on start of enlargement process, including accession negotiations and a reinforced pre-accession strategy
1998	 First European Conference held in March. The Conference was attended by EU member states and all European countries aspiring to EU membership, which had concluded an association agreement with the EU. It is a multilateral forum for political consultations on common foreign and security policy, justice and home affairs and economic and regional cooperation Accession process launched in March Accession Partnerships adopted in March Accession negotiations opened with Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Poland and Slovenia in March Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania and Slovakia start the general multilateral process of screening legislation for conformity with EU law in March Individual screening process begins with the ten candidate countries from Central and Eastern Europe and Cyprus in April New government in Malta reactivates EU membership application European Commission adopts first Regular Reports in November Vienna European Council in December endorses European Commission's Regular Reports which give an assessment of the progress made by candidate countries in meeting the Acquis and other accession obligations
1999	 European Commission presents update of its 1993 Opinion on Malta in February Berlin European Council in March adopts the financial perspectives for 2000-2006 (Agenda 2000), including pre-accession funds and accession-related expenditure European Commission adopts second set of Regular Reports and revises Accession Partnerships in October Helsinki European Council in December reaffirms the inclusive nature of the accession process, decides to open accession negotiations with six additional candidates, and confirms Turkey as a candidate destined to join the European Union
2000	 Accession negotiations formally launched with Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Romania, and the Slovakia in February Feira European Council in June confirms the principles of differentiation and catching up and emphasises the importance of candidate countries' administrative capacity to implement the <i>acquis communautaire</i> European Commission adopts third set of Regular Reports in November

- Nice European Council in December provides the institutional basis for enlargement by concluding the IGC on institutional reform, and endorses the enlargement strategy proposed by the Commission. The central element of the strategy is the roadmap for the conduct of the negotiations
- Gothenburg European Council in June confirms that the enlargement process is irreversible, and reaffirms the roadmap as the framework for completion of the negotiations. "Provided that progress towards meeting the accession criteria continues at an unabated pace, the roadmap should make it possible to complete negotiations by the end of 2002 for those candidates that are ready, allowing the countries concerned to participate in the European Parliament elections of 2004 as new Members." The European Council recognises that the decisions in Helsinki have brought Turkey closer to the EU, and urges Turkey to take concrete measures to implement the priorities of the Accession Partnership
- Ireland, in a referendum, fails to ratify Nice Treaty
 - European Commission adopts fourth set of Regular Reports and proposals for revised Accession Partnerships in November
 - Laeken European Council in December agrees with Commission which considered that, "if the present rate of progress of the negotiations and reforms in the candidate States is maintained, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Slovenia could be ready" to conclude negotiations by the end of 2002 and take part in the elections for the European Parliament due in June 2004
- European Commission announces, on 9 October, that it considers Second Irish referendum to ratify the Nice Treaty scheduled for 19 October
 Copenhagen European Council meeting, scheduled for December, expected to issue invitations to ten accession countries to join the EU
 The EU accession treaty is signed in Athens, Greece on April 16, 2003
 Accession of ten new member states to the EU in May 2004: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia