# F

## **Appendix F - The Burnham Truce**

 $\underline{\textbf{RE-AFFIRMING}}$  the principles contained in the Burnham Declaration, July 5th - 18th, 1997:

**<u>REPRESENTATIVES</u>** of the National Government of Papua New Guinea (PNG), the Bougainville Transitional Government (BTG), the Resistance, the Bougainville Interim Government (BIG) and the Bougainville Revolutionary Army (BRA), having met in Burnham military camp, New Zealand from October 1-10<sup>th</sup> 1997, recognise the desirability of taking immediate positive measures -

- To cease armed conflict
- For peace and reconciliation, and
- For the return of normalcy and restoration of services by all parties

**<u>PENDING</u>** a formal meeting of leaders desirably by 31<sup>st</sup> January 1998,

HAVE AGREED, as immediate interim measures, to the following:-

- 1. To respect and promote basic human rights and fundamental freedoms;
- 2. To refrain from all acts of intimidation and armed confrontation;
- 3. To promote peace and reconciliation in the community;
- 4. To lift all restrictions, so as to restore freedom of movement and delivery of services to the people of Bougainville subject to appropriate clearances;

- 5. That Field commanders of the PNG Security Forces, the Resistance and BRA, and Village Chiefs, to meet on a regular basis to consult, review and monitor the implementation of this commitment as well as to consult as required, and resolve any incidents which may threaten or breach these understandings as well as to promote the aspirations expressed herein;
- 6. Recommend to the National Government and leaders on Bougainville to immediately invite a neutral regional group to monitor the terms of this agreement.

This agreement shall take effect as of the date of signature.

# Signed at Burnham Military Camp, Burnham, New Zealand on this Tenth day of October 1997

PNG NATIONAL GOVERNMENT	<b>BTG DELEGATION</b> :	<b>BIG/BRA DELEGATION</b> :
DELEGATION :		
Robert Igara	Kapeatu Puaria	Martin Miriori
Robert Igara	Kapeatu r uaria	
Secretary for Prime Minister	Legal Adviser (BTG)	Secretary (BIG) &
& NEC and Delegation Leader	Delegation Leader	Delegation Leader

### WITNESSED BY:

The Honourable	Rt Honourable
Rev. Leslie Boseto MP CMG SIC	Don McKinnon MP
Minister for Home Affairs	Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade
Government of Solomon Islands	Government of New Zealand

### Papua New Guinea Security Forces

### **ROYAL PNG CONSTABULARY**

### PNG DEFENCE FORCE

Ludwig Kembu QPM Deputy Commissioner of Police Chief of Operations Brig. Gen. Leo Nuia OBE Commander PNG Defence Force

John Toguata CBE QPM Assistant Commissioner of Police Divisional Commander Islands Division Lt. Col. Michael Tamalang Commanding Officer 2RPIR

Lt. Col. Jeoffrey Wiri Director Land Operations HQ PNG Defence Force

Lt. Col. Penie Nilligur Director Military Intelligence HQ PNG Defence Force

### **BRA Commanders**

Sam Kauona, General Ishmael Toroama, Chief of Staff Peter Nagua, Chief of Operations Steven Topesi, Task Force Commander Ben Kamda, Planner Aloysious Singka, Ground Force Commander Barnabas Tobi, 2IC C/OPS CMN Timothy Laku Sive, Training Commander

### **BRA Company Representatives - Commanders**

Epeli Epilva	Glen Biaras
Steven Kiwa	Joel Patu
Pais Mako	George Diva
John Mukaki	Sammy Darius
Justin Kokiai	Noel Rufo
Ben Paura	Darius Wami
Kevin Kaparius	Benjamin Kommra
Thomas Tari	Eddy Mohin
Cornnelius Solomon	Frank Sinaku
Joe Mark	John Kouro
John Kongkai	Amos Ove
Eric Neto	Sylvester Vane
David Taikia	Lucas Allkus
Getsi Tanahan	Zachias Peahiri

### **Resistance Commanders**

<u>Buka</u>	Hilary Masiria Donald Hamao
<u>Northwest</u>	Justin Permaslveri Jonathan Tora John Bosco Doaka
<u>Tinputz</u>	Ross Vavalo
<u>Wakunai</u>	Paul Akoitai Tony Busu
<u>Kieta</u>	Hilary Loni John Bosco Piritoi
<u>Buin</u>	Jacob Naisy Philip Pusua Henry Kiumo Andy Foster Cosmas Piruke
<u>Siwai</u>	David Mikiss Michael Komoiko Pius Kuheu
<u>Bana</u>	Jacob Lauiau Enoch Pukaro Daniel Namake