## **APPENDIX 2**

# VISIT PROGRAM: PORT MORESBY AND BOUGAINVILLE, 15 - 18 MARCH 1999

### Monday 15 March

8.45am	<ul> <li>Arrive Port Moresby by RAAF C-130 from Townsville.</li> <li>Met by:</li> <li>Deputy Chief of State Protocol, PNG, Mr Joseph Laua</li> <li>Deputy Sergeant at Arms, Mr Lalai Vali</li> <li>Australian High Commissioner, HE Mr David Irvine</li> <li>Head of Australian Defence Staff, Australian High Commission,</li> <li>Colonel Richard Howell</li> <li>Consul, Ms Meike Flach</li> <li>Third Secretary (Political)/Visit Liaison Officer, Ms Sarah Storey</li> </ul>
9.45am	Briefing by Australian High Commission staff: High Commissioner Deputy High Commissioner, Dr Stephen Henningham Head of Australian Defence Staff Minister-Counsellor (AusAID), Ms Annmaree O'Keeffe Trade Commissioner (Austrade), Mr Charles Bowden Counsellor (Political), Mr David McGrath First Secretary (Political), Ms Patricia Holmes First Secretary (Economic), Mr Ali Noore
10.30am	Meeting with the Speaker of the National Parliament, the Hon John Pundari MP
11.30am	Tour of Parliament House
12.15pm	Lunch hosted by the Speaker, State Dining Room, Parliament House
2.45pm	Meeting with the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Hon Roy Yaki MP Also in attendance: Hon Sam Akoitai MP, Minister for State Mr Robert Igara, Chief Secretary to the Prime Minister Mr Evoa Lalatute, Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Mr William Dihm, Director, Office of Bougainville Affairs Mr John Sunia, Office of Bougainville Affairs
4.00pm	Meeting with Members of the Opposition: Hon Bernard Narokobi MP, Leader of the Opposition Hon Ted Diro, Governor, Central Province Hon Chris Haiveta MP, Deputy Opposition Leader Hon John Tekwie MP, Governor, Sandaun Province Hon Michael Laimo MP, Member for South Bougainville Hon Andrew Baing MP, Member for Markham

Hon Samson Napo MP, Member for Bulolo Hon Henry Smith MP, Member for Goroka and Chair of Public Works Committee

- 5.00pm Meeting with the Hon Sir John Kaputin MP, Special State Negotiator for Bougainville
- 7.00pm Dinner at the Australian High Commission, hosted by HE Mr David Irvine

#### Tuesday 16 March

- 8.15am Meeting with the New Zealand High Commissioner, HE Mr Nigel Moore and the Acting High Commissioner for Fiji, HE Mrs Maria Matavewa
- 8.50am Meeting with Minister for State, the Hon Sam Akoitai MP and other Bougainville Members of Parliament and officials: Hon John Momis MP, Regional Member for Bougainville Hon Michael Ogio MP, Member for North Bougainville Mr Lauatu Tautea, Deputy Director of the Office of Bougainville Affairs Mr John Sunia, Office of Bougainville Affairs
- 9.45am Briefing at Murray Barracks by Brigadier General Jerry Singirok, Commander PNGDF and Chief of Operations
- 10.50am Transfer to Port Moresby International Airport
- 11.30am Depart Port Moresby by C-130 for flight to Bougainville Delegation accompanied by HE Mr David Irvine and High Commission staff: Ms Annmaree O'Keeffe Ms Sarah Storey Mr Richard Feakes and Mr John Yamin, Director, Australia/New Zealand Branch, PNG Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- 1.40pm Arrive Aropa Airstrip, Bougainville Met by Commander PMG, Brigadier Roger Powell, ADF and Mr Bruce Hunt, Chief Negotiator
- 1.50pm Transfer by PMG helicopters to Arawa Landing Zone and thence by PMG vehicles to HQ PMG, Arawa
- 2.10pm Briefing at HQ PMG by Commander Powell and PMG staff
- 3.20pm Return to Aropa for C-130 flight to Buka, departing 3.40pm
- 4.25pm Arrive Buka, and transfer by PMG vehicles to Buka Hospital

4.35pm	Inspect Buka Hospital, accompanied by:
	Ms Alison Chartres, Bougainville-based AusAID officer
	Mr Eric Blight, Snowy Mountains Engineering Corporation Contracting
	Mr Raymond Masono, Executive Officer, Buka Hospital

5.15pm Transfer to Buka wharf for PMG boat (LCM8) to Sohano Island, arriving 5.30pm. Overnight Sohano Guest House. Dinner attended by Mr Gerard Sinato

#### Wednesday 17 March

- 7.00am Boat and vehicle transfer from Sohano Island to Buka, and by PMG helicopters to PMG Logistical Support Centre, Loloho.
- 8.30am Inspection of Loloho facilities, with particular attention to the health and medical facilities.
- 8.55am HQ PMG. Discussions with BCA Core Group: Mr Joe Kabui, Co-Chair of the BCA and former Vice-President of BIG Mr James Tanis, former BIG Minister for Reconciliation and Internal Affairs Mr Sam Kauona, former BRA General Mr Jonathon Ngati, former BIG Minister for Education Mr David Sisito, former BIG 'Opposition Leader' Mr James Taraitchi, former BIG
  Mr Thomas Annis, former BTG Deputy Premier Ms Anges Titus, former BTG Minister for Local Level Government Mr Denis Sereke, former BIG Mr Richard Lyons, former BTG Minister for Youth
- 11.30am Lunch with BCA members, hosted by PMG
- 12.35pm Depart Arawa by PMG helicopters for Buin PMG Teamsite
- 1.00pm Arrive Buin. Briefing by Commanding Officer, LT COL Haig Elgar, NZDF Discussions with Buin team members and local factional representatives
- 2.00pm Depart Buin for Wakunai PMG Teamsite
- 2.50pm Arrive Wakunai. Briefing by Commanding Officer, LT COL Jack Gregg, ADF Discussions with Wakunai team members and local factional representatives
- 4.00pm Depart Wakunai by PMG helicopters for Buka. Transfer to Provincial Police Office
- 4.30pm Meeting with Leitana Nehan NGO, led by Ms Helen Hakena
- 5.00pm Meeting with Leitana Council of Elders, attended by: Mr James Togel, Mr Joel Banam, Mr Ignatius Sopolo, Mr Robert Tabuta, Mr Patrick Parson and Mr David Lesi

Overnight at Sohano Guest House

# Thursday 18 March

7.00am	Depart Sohano Island by PMG Landing Craft for Talena High School site, North Bougainville
7.40am	Arrive Talena. Met by Ms Alison Chartres and Mr Eric Blight. Welcome by teaching staff and students
	Inspect AusAID-funded project: Bishop Wade High School and Specialised Training Centre
10.00am	Depart Talena by LCM8 for Buka
10.45am	Arrive Buka for transfer to airport
11.50am	Delegation departs Buka for Townsville by RAAF C-130
3.35pm	Delegation arrives at Townsville.