# С

# Appendix C – List of Hearings and Witnesses

# Sydney

Wednesday, 18 February 2009

Asia Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions

Mr Kieren Fitzpatrick - Director

# Australian Human Rights Centre

Professor Andrew Byrnes - Chair, Committee Management

Associate Professor Andrea Durbach - Director

Ms Catherine Renshaw - Research Fellow

# Australian Human Rights Commission

The Hon. Catherine Branson QC - President

Ms Cassandra Goldie - Director, Sex and Age Discrimination Unit

Mr David Robinson - Deputy Director, International Programs Unit

# Human Rights Council of Australia

Mr Harris van Beek - Member

# Secretariat of the Pacific Community

Ms Imrana Jalal – Gender and Human Rights Adviser, Pacific Regional Rights Resource Team

#### Sydney Centre for International Law

Dr Jacqueline Mowbray - Program Co-Director and Centre Associate

# Canberra

Thursday, 19 March 2009 Australian Bahá'í Community Ms Tessa Scrine – Executive Officer Government Relations Viet Tan Mr Diem Hoang Do – Chairman Dr Phong Nguyen – Central Committee Mr Duc Minh Truong – Representative

# Canberra

Tuesday, 7 April 2009

# **Amnesty International Australia**

Mr John Greenwell - Activist

Mr Andrew Witheford - Government Relations Manager

# Australian Council for International Development

Ms Linda Rademakers - Policy Manager

Ms Sarah Winter - Human Rights Adviser

# Australian National University

Professor Hilary Charlesworth – Director, Centre for International Governance and Justice

Dr Susan Harris Rimmer – Board Member, UNIFEM Australia; and Research Fellow, Centre for International Governance and Justice

# National Children's and Youth Law Centre

Mr James McDougall - Director and Principal Solicitor

#### University of New South Wales, Australian Defence Force Academy

Dr Clinton Fernandes - Senior Lecturer

#### World Vision Australia

Mr James Cox – Team Leader, Human Rights

Ms Eleanor Kennon - Policy Officer, Government Relations Team

# Melbourne

Wednesday, 15 April 2009

#### Australian Council of Trade Unions

Ms Alison Tate - International Officer

#### Burma Campaign Australia

Ms Mary O'Kane - Member

#### Castan Centre for Human Rights Law

Miss Erica Contini - Project Officer

Professor Sarah Joseph - Director

Dr Adam McBeth - Deputy Director

#### Human Rights Law Resource Centre

Ms Rachel Ball - Lawyer

Ms Emily Howie - Senior Lawyer

#### Uniting Church in Australia

Dr Mark Zirnsak – Director, Justice and International Mission Unit, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania

#### UnitingWorld

Reverend John Barr - Associate Director, Church Solidarity (Asia)

# Canberra

# Thursday, 13 August 2009

#### Australian Agency for International Development

Mr Chris Tinning - Assistant Director-General, Development Partnerships Branch

Mr Robert Tranter - Assistant Director-General

#### Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr John Fisher – Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia (South) and Regional Issues Branch

Mr Garth Hunt - Director, China Political and External Section

Mr Craig Maclachlan - Assistant Secretary, International Organisations Branch

Ms Lyndall McLean - Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia (North) Branch

Mr Geoffrey Tooth - Acting First Assistant Secretary, Pacific Division