С

Appendix C—Witnesses at public hearings

Canberra

Friday, 12 September 2008

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Peter Woolcott – First Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia Division Mr Michael Mugliston – Head, Asia Trade Task Force Mr John Feakes – Assistant Secretary, Strategic Affairs Branch Ms Lynda Worthaisong – Director, ASEAN Regional Issues and East Timor Section Mr John Tilemann – Director, Strategic Policy Section, Strategic Affairs Branch, International Security Division Ms Susan Grace – Director, Counter Terrorism Policy Section

AusAID

Mr Richard Moore – Deputy Director-General, Asia Division Ms Deborah Fulton – Director, Policy and Global Environment Section Mr Craig Keating – Acting Director, East Asia Regional Section

Austrade

Mr Jim Enright – Manager, Government Relations Ms Sheila Lunter – Project Manager, International Liaison Unit, Southeast Asia, South Asia and the Pacific

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Ms Arja Keski-Nummi – First	Assistant Secretary,	Refugee Huma	anitarian and
International Division			

- Ms Malissa Dryden Acting Assistant Secretary, International Coordination Branch, RH&I Division
- Mr Jacob Townsend Assistant Director, South East Asia and Bali Process Section, ICB, RH&I Division
- Ms Darlene Trnka Graduate, South East Asia and Bali Process Section, ICB, RH&I Division

Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

Mr Barry Jones – Head of Division, Enterprise Connect (representing National
Measurement Institute, Innovation, Services)
Ms Ruth Gallagher – Manager, Tariff and Trade Section, Trade and
International Branch
Ms Jennifer McEwan – Assistant Manager, Tariff and Trade Section, Trade
and International Branch
Mr Pierre King – Assistant Manager, Standards and International Liaison
Section, Trade and International Branch
Mr Louis Couttoupes – Policy Officer, Standards and International Liaison
Section, Trade and International Branch
Ms Michele Ouzman – Tariff and Trade Section, Trade and International
Branch
Ms Mary Finlay – General Manager, International Science Branch
Mr Jon Lewis – Manager, Asia Pacific and Africa, International Science Branch
Mr Mark Durant–General Manager, Automotive TCF and Engineering
Branch
Mr Mark Mussared – Manager, Automotive Research and Trade Section,
Automotive, TCF and Engineering Branch
Mr Alan Coleman – TCF Policy Section, Automotive, TCF and Engineering
Branch

Department of Defence

Mr Lachlan Colquhoun – Assistant Secretary, South East Asia, International Policy Division

Professor Tony Milner - Basham Professor of Asian History, ANU

IP Australia

Mr David Johnson – Acting Deputy Director-General Mr Ian Goss – General Manager, Business Development and Strategy Group Mr Matthew Forno – Director, International Cooperation, Business Development and Strategy Group Ms Karen Tan – Acting Director, International Policy, Business Development and Strategy Group

Australian Academy of Science

Professor Michael Dopita – Fellow of the Academy and Academy Treasurer Dr Sue Meek – Chief Executive

Engineers Australia

Ms Kathryn Hurford – Associate Director, Public Policy, International and National Policy Directorate Mr Andre Kaspura – Policy Analyst, International and National Directorate

Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Mr Scott Evans – Branch Manager, Multilateral, Middle East, South and South East Asia Branch, International Group

Mr Peter Davies – Director, Trade Agreements and Multilateral Unit, Multilateral, Middle East, South and South East Asia Branch, International Group

Canberra

Monday, 22 September 2008

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Peter Woolcott – First Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia Division Ms Jennifer Rawson – First Assistant Secretary, International Security Division Mr Michael Mugliston – Head, Asia Trade Task Force Ms Lynda Worthaisong – Director, ASEAN Regional Issues and East Timor Section

Mr Anthony Taylor - Director, Cultural Diplomacy Section

AusAID

Mr Richard Moore – Deputy Director-General, Asia Division Ms Deborah Fulton – Director, Policy and Global Environment Section Mr Craig Keating – Acting Director, East Asia Regional Section

Melbourne

Thursday, 2 October 2008

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Mr Paul Morris – Executive Manager, Technical Market Access Mr Paul Ross – General Manager, Bilateral Trade

Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy

Mr Colin Oliver – Assistant Secretary, International Branch, Telecommunications Network Regulation and Australian Post Ms Maureen Cahill – Executive manager, Strategy and Coordination Branch, Australian Communications and Media Authority

Australian Federal Police

Assistant Commissioner Peter Drennan – National Manager, Counter Terrorism Commander Paul Osbourne – International Network, Border and International

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Ms Alison Tate – International Officer

Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries

Mr Andrew McKellar - Chief Executive

Federation of Automotive Products Manufacturers

Ms Anna Greco – Chief Executive

Australian Services Union, Community & Public Sector Union and Communications, Electrical and Plumbing Union

Ms Sarah Fitzpatrick – Consultant, ASU Mr Paul Slape – National Secretary, ASU Mr David Carey – Federal Secretary, CPSU-State Public Services Federation

Burma Campaign Australia

Ms Alison Vicary

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Dr Ta-Yan Leong – Senior Advisor, Government and International Ms Melinda Spink – Director, CSIRO AusAID Environmental Research for Development Alliance

Sydney

Thursday, 6 November 2008

ANSTO

Mr Ryan Gilchrist – Government and Regulatory Affairs Mr Allan Murray – Manager, External Radiation Services and Leader, Regional Security of Radioactive Sources Project Mr Stephen McIntosh – Senior Advisor, Government Liaison

Australia-ASEAN Business Council

Mr John Connor – President Mr Paul Gallagher – Executive Director

Telstra Corporation Limited

Mr Kavan Peries – Head of Global Solutions Ms Jacqueline Brosnan – Counsel

Singapore Airlines Limited

Mr Subhas Menon – Regional Vice President, South West Pacific Ms Diana Stainlay – Public Relations Manager, South West Pacific

Qantas Airways Limited

Mr David Hawes – Group General Manager, Government and International Relations Ms Jane McKeon – General Manager, Government and International Relations

Indonesian Solidarity

Dr John Rawson – Director Mr Eko Waluyo – Program Coordinator

Professor Howard Dick

SBS Television

Mr Bruce Meagher - Director, Strategy and Communications

AusHeritage Limited

Mr Vinod Daniel – Chairman, AusHeritage and Head Cultural Heritage and Science Initiatives Branch, Australian Museum Mr Bruce Pettman – Vice Chairman Mr Ian Cook – Board Member Mr Graham Brooks – Member M Michael Crayford – Director

Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies, University of Sydney

Professor Jake Lynch - Director

Canberra

Thursday, 1 December 2008

Australian Pork Limited

Ms Kathleen Plowman – General Manager, Policy Mr Peter Haydon – General Manager, Marketing Mr Timothy Flor – Policy Officer

Canberra

Monday, 16 March 2009

Department of Foreign Affairs

Mr Peter Woolcott – Head, South-East Asia Division Mr Michael Mugliston – Head, Asia Trade Task Force Mr John Larkin – Deputy Head, Asia Trade Task Force Mr Danny Burrows – Executive Officer, FTA Unit Mr Tim Ward – Executive Officer, FTA Unit Dr Milton Churche – Coordinator, Goods and Government Procurement, FTA Unit

AusAID

Ms Octavia Borthwick – Assistant Director-General, Asia Regional Branch Mr Michael Wilson – Assistant Director-General, Asia Bilateral Branch Mr Craig Keating – Deputy Director, East Asia Regional Section, Asia Regional Branch

Austrade

Ms Sheila Lunter – Project Manager, South East Asia, South Asia and the Pacific Liaison Unit

Australian Trade Commission

Mr Michael Moignard – General Manager, Government and Communications