# С

# Appendix C — Public hearings and witnesses

Witnesses are listed in alphabetical order and under each public hearing day.

# Thursday, 11 August 2005 - Canberra

**Cameco Corporation** 

Mr Jerry Grandey, President and Chief Executive Officer Dr Ron Matthews, Manager, Exploration

# Friday, 19 August 2005 - Melbourne

Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF) Mr David Noonan Mr David Sweeney Commonwealth Scientific Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) Dr Roderick Hill, Group Executive, Information Manufacturing and Minerals Friends of the Earth - Australia (FOE) Dr Jim Green, National Nuclear Campaigner Ms Michaela Stubbs, Campaigner Coordinator Heathgate Resources Pty Ltd Mr David Brunt, Vice President, Exploration and Development

Mr Mark Chalmers, Senior Vice President

Medical Association for Prevention of War (MAPW) (Victorian Branch)
Ms Dimity Hawkins, Executive Officer
Mr Lindsay Rayner
Assoc Prof Tilman Ruff, President, Victorian Branch
Individual
Dr Gavin Mudd
Southern Gold Ltd
Mr Ric Horn, Chairman
Uranium Information Centre (UIC)
Mr Ian Hore-Lacy, General Manager
Monday, 5 September 2005 - Canberra
Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics (ABARE)
Mr Andrew Dickson, Manager, Commodity Outlook Branch
Mr Will Mollard, Senior Commodity Analyst
Geoscience Australia
Dr Ian Lambert, Acting Chief, Minerals Division
Mr Aden McKay, Principal Geologist, Minerals Division
Minerals Council of Australia (MCA)
Mr Mitchell Hooke, Chief Executive
Mr Peter Morris, Senior Director, Economic Policy
Mr Robert Rawson, Director, Safety and Health
Friday, 16 September 2005 - Sydney
Individuals
Mr Keith Alder
Prof Richard Broinowski
Dr Helen Caldicott
AMP Capital Investors Sustainable Funds Team
Dr Ian Woods, Senior Research Analyst
Australian Nuclear Association (ANA)

Dr Clarence Hardy, Secretary

Australian Nuclear Forum Inc (ANF)

Mr James Brough, President

Mr Jim Fredsall, Secretary

Dr Philip Moore, Committee Member

#### Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA)

Dr John Loy, Chief Executive Officer

**Compass Resources Ltd** 

Dr Malcolm Humphreys, Executive Director

L and M Kemeny Consulting

Professor Leslie Kemeny

#### Friday, 23 September 2005 - Perth

#### Arafura Resources NL

Mr Alistair Stephens, Managing Director

#### Areva Group

Mr Damien Ewington, Regional Manager, Uranium Mr Stephen Mann, General Manager, Cogema Australia Pty Ltd Mr Jean-Pierre Nicoud, Vice President Operations, Cogema Resources Inc (Canada)

#### Association of Mining and Exploration Companies (AMEC)

Dr David Blight, Committee Member

Mr Alan Layton, Research and Policy Officer

#### Deep Yellow Ltd

Mr James Pratt, Managing Director

#### Eaglefield Holdings Pty Ltd

Mr Michael Fewster, Manager

Jindalee Resources Ltd

Mr Donald Kennedy, Chairman

#### Medical Association for the Prevention of War (MAPW) (WA Branch)

Dr Peter Masters, Member, Executive Committee

#### Nova Energy Ltd

Mr Richard Pearce, Managing Director Dr Timothy Sugden, Chairman

#### Monday, 10 October 2005 - Canberra

Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (ASNO)

Mr John Carlson, Director General

Mr Nick Doulgeris, Head, Nuclear Accountancy and Control Section

#### Department of Environment and Heritage (DEH)

Mr David Borthwick, Secretary

Mr Peter Cochrane, Director, National Parks

Mr Gerard Early, Assistant Secretary, Approvals and Wildlife Division Mr Alan Hughes, Assistant Secretary, Supervising Scientist Division Mr John Jende, Director, Renewable Energy Policy Energy Futures Branch Dr Arthur Johnston, Supervising Scientist, Supervising Scientist Division Mr Barry Sterland, First Assistant Secretary, Industry Communities and Energy Division

Ms Anthea Tinney, Deputy Secretary

#### Submarine Institute of Australia (SIA)

Rear Admiral (Rtd) Peter Briggs AO CSC, President Mr John Thornton, Member Mr Derrick Webster, Vice President, Business Development

#### Thursday, 13 October 2005 - Canberra

Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE)

Prof Brian O'Connor, Vice President

Dr Dennis Mather, Scientific Secretary

#### Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)

Dr Ron Cameron, Chief of Operations

Dr Ian Smith, Executive Director

#### Monday, 24 October 2005 - Darwin

#### Energy Resources of Australia Ltd (ERA)

Mr Harry Kenyon-Slaney, Chief Executive Officer

#### Northern Land Council (NLC)

Mr John Daly, Chairman

Mr Norman Fry, CEO

Mr Ron Levy, Principal Legal Officer

Mr John Sheldon, Senior Policy Officer

Mr Howard Smith, Special Projects Officer, Environment and Engineering

#### Northern Territory Government

Mr Richard Jackson, Director of Compliance, Minerals and Energy Group Mr Richard Sellars, A/g Executive Director, Minerals and Energy Group Mr Keith Tayler, Uranium Adviser, Minerals and Energy Group

#### Northern Territory Minerals Council Inc (NTMC)

Mr Neville Henwood, Executive Committee Member

Dr Ron Matthews, Manager, Exploration, Cameco Australia Pty Ltd

Ms Kezia Purick, Chief Executive Officer

#### The Environment Centre NT Inc (ECNT)

Mr Peter Robertson, Coordinator

Dr Gary Scott, Freshwater Project Officer

#### Wednesday, 2 November 2005 - Canberra

#### **BHP Billiton Ltd**

Mr Bernie Delaney, Vice President, Government Relations and Asset Protection

Mr Steve Green, Sustainability Manager, Olympic Dam Development Study

Dr Richard Higgins, Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer,

Base Metals Australia

Mr Richard Yeeles, Group Manager, Corporate Affairs, Base Metals Australia

#### 714

# Thursday, 3 November 2005 - Canberra

Summit Resources Ltd

Mr Alan Eggers, Managing Director

# Thursday, 8 December 2005 - Canberra

#### Australian Australian International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor Forum (ITER)

Dr Matthew Hole, Chair Prof John O'Connor, Spokesperson

#### Australian National University

Dr Boyd Blackwell, Facility Director, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering

# Thursday, 9 February 2006 - Canberra

#### Silex Systems Ltd

Mr Michael Goldsworthy, Chief Executive Director Mr Christopher Wilks, Director

# Thursday, 2 March 2006 - Canberra

#### Individual

Prof Igor Bray