С

Appendix C – List of public hearings

Wednesday, 18 June 2005 - Canberra

Australian Academy of Science

Professor Philip Kuchel FAA, Secretary, Science Policy

Professor Kurt Lambeck, President

Dr Sue Meek, Chief Executive

Council for Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (CHASS)

Professor Sharon Bell, Board Member

Mr Toss Gascoigne, Director

Professor Graeme Hugo, University Professorial Research Fellow, The University of Adelaide

Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - Canberra

Australian Research Council

Mr Lennard Marsden, Chief Operational Officer

Professor Margaret Sheil, Chief Executive Officer

The Group of Eight Limited

Mr Tim Payne, Deputy Executive Director

Professor Mandy Thomas, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research), Australian National University

Tuesday, 5 August 2008 - Sydney

Members of the Centre for Study of Research Training and Impact (SORTI), University of Newcastle

Professor Allyson Holbrook, Director

Research Australia

Ms Rebecca James, Chief Executive Officer

Mr David Pullar, Manager, Partnerships and Policy

Sydney University Postgraduate Representative Association

Ms Katherine Barnsley, Counsellor

Mr Samuel Greenland, Co- President

Macquarie University Postgraduate Representative Association

Mr Phil Betts, President

Individual

Dr Adam Cawley

Australian Catholic University

Professor Peter Wilson, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and International

The University of New South Wales

Professor Leslie Field, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research

Professor Margaret Harding, Pro Vice-Chancellor

University of Sydney

Professor Merlin Crossley, Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

University of Western Sydney

Professor Andrew Cheetham, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research)

University of Wollongong

Mrs Kim Callaway, Director, Research Student Centre

Dr Lori Lockyer, Associate Dean, Faculty of Education

Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)

Dr Miriam Goodwin, Senior Advisor Research Policy and Planning

The Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE)

Professor Bruce King, Vice-President

Wednesday, 6 August 2008 - Adelaide

Individual

Professor Ellen McIntyre

Flinders University

Professor Christopher Marlin, Deputy Vice-Chancellor

University of South Australia

Professor Nanthi Bolan, Dean of Graduate Studies

The University of Adelaide

Professor Richard Russell AM, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research Operations

Flinders University

Mr Jun Kimura, Postgraduate Student Mr James Manicom, PhD Candidate

Mrs Sandra Elizabeth Muecke, PhD Candidate

Mr Cyle Duan Sprick, Postgraduate Student

Monday, 11 August 2008 - Batchelor

Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education

Dr Sharon Chirgwin, Post Graduate Coordinator

Professor Joe Fraser, Pro Vice-Chancellor

Professor Jeanie Herbert, Vice-Chancellor

Professor Peter Stephenson, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research

Tuesday, 12 August 2008 - Perth

Individuals

Professor Su Lloyd

Professor Nigel Laing

Curtin University of Technology

Professor Linda Kristjanson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Development)

Edith Cowan University

Professor John Finlay-Jones, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Murdoch University

Associate Professor Graham William O'Hara, Dean of Graduate Studies

The Universitiy of Notre Dame Australia

Dr Marc Fellman, Manager, Research Office

The University of Western Australia

Professor Robyn Owens, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Research Training)

Institute Postdoctoral Researchers Assocation at theTelethon Institute for Child Health Research

Dr Natasha Nassar, Research Fellow

Dr Matthew Wikstrom, Research Fellow

Monday, 18 August 2008 - Brisbane

University of Southern Queensland

Professor Graham Baker, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Scholarship)

Southern Cross University

Professor Neal Ryan, Pro Vice-Chancellor

Queensland University of Technology

Mr Graham MacAulay, Director, HR

Dr Lawrence Stedman, Principal Policy Advisor

Professor Rodney Wissler, Dean of Graduate Studies

University of the Sunshine Coast

Mr Donald Maconachie, Director, Teaching and Research Services

Ms Barbara Palmer, Manager, Research, Teaching and Research Services

Griffith University

Professor Jacqueline Cumming, Dean

The University of Queensland

Professor Christa Critchley, Dean, Graduate School

Professor Alan Lawson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research and Research Training

National Tertiary Education Union (University of Queensland Branch)

Dr John Cokley

Dr Jane O'Sullivan

Professor William Whiten, Member

Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - Townsville

National Tertiary Education Union (Central Queensland University Branch)

Associate Professor Dr Errol Vieth

Individual

Professor Richard Speare (for Dr Lee Skerrat)

James Cook University

Professor Helene Marsh, Dean, Graduate Research

Professor Chris Cocklin, Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation

Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - Canberra

Australian National University

Professor Mandy Thomas, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Ian Chubb, Vice-Chancellor

Universities Australia

Dr Alexander Maroya, Assistant Director

Dr Arun Sharma, Chair, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - Canberra

CSIRO

Dr Jim Peacock, Fellow

Dr Alastair Robertson, Deputy Chief Executive, Science Strategy and Investment

Cooperative Research Centres Association Inc (CRC)

Dr Ian Dagley, Member

Mr Michael Hartmann, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Andreas Glanznig, Chief Operating Officer, Invasive Animals Cooperative Research Centre

Dr Brendan Cowled, Former PhD Student

Monday, 8 September 2008 - Melbourne

Australian Universities Quality Agency

Dr Jeanette Baird, Audit Director

Australian Council of Deans and Directors of Graduate Studies

Mrs Fiona Zammit, Executive Officer/Member

Professor Richard Strugnell

Individual

Dr Deirdre Barron

Swinburne University of Technology

Associate Professor Pam Green, Director, Graduate Studies

University of Ballarat

Dr Singarayer Florentine, Senior Lecturer

Victoria University

Professor Helen Borland, Director, Postgraduate Research

Professor Linda Rosenman, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Region

RMIT University

Professor Neill Furlong, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation

Melbourne College of Divinity

Dr Paul Beirne, Dean and CEO

Deakin University

Dr Maree Gladwin, Director, Staff Research and Development

La Trobe University

Professor Andrew Brennan

Monash University

Professor Rodney Devenish, Deputy Director, Research Graduate School

The University of Melbourne

Professor Richard Strugnell

National Tertiary Education Union

Dr Carolyn Allport, President

Mr Paul Kniest

Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - Melbourne

Australian Council of Deans of Education

Professor Peter Renshaw, Secretary/Treasurer

Ms Lucy Rogers, Executive Officer

Professor Sue Willis, President

Australian Education Union

Mr Angelo Gavrielatos, Federal President

Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute and National Committee for the Mathematical Sciences

Professor Philip Broadbridge, Director

Professor Peter Hall, Chair, AMSI Scientific Advisory Committee

Professor Joachim Rubinstein, Chair

Individual

Mr David Packham OAM

Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - Canberra

Individual

Professor John Clark, Director, Australian Centre for Asian Art and Archaeology University of Sydney

National Health and Medical Research Council

Professor Warwick Anderson, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Miranda Bruyn, Assistant Director, Research Investment Branch

Dr Clive Morris, Chief Knowledge and Development Officer

Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - Canberra

The Council of Australian Postgraduate Assocations (CAPA)

Ms Tammi Jonas, Regional Secretary

Mr Nigel Palmer, National President