

better supported".

(submission 48)

Committee Room 1R5, Parliament House, Canberra Professor Andrew Smith (submission 46)

10.00am

Maria Vamvakinou said. "This inquiry focuses on understanding how Australian scientists collaborate with colleagues overseas, and is looking at ways international research collaborations can be

"International research collaboration delivers tangible benefits to many stakeholders, both in Australia and overseas, reducing costs and sharing in expertise", Committee Chair

benefits of international scientific collaboration, impediments to successful collaboration, and strategies for supporting international research engagement.

Wednesday. Professor Andrew Smith and representatives of the Department of Innovation,

Public hearing in Canberra The House of Representatives Industry, Science and Innovation Committee will conduct its eighth public hearing for its inquiry into Australia's international research collaboration on

Australia's international research collaboration

Industry, Science and Research will discuss the nature of existing collaboration, the

The inquiry is examining areas of research that can deliver many benefits to Australia and its international research partners.

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM Wednesday 26 May 2010 - 10.00am to 12.00pm

10.45am Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

Dr Anne Byrne, General Manager, Research Funding and Policy Branch. Ms Anne-Marie Lansdown, Head of Division, Science and Infrastructure. Mrs Mary Finlay, General Manager, International Science and EIF Branch

The public hearing will be webcast (webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/), and broadcast internally (audio only) on HMS frequency 97.5. Further details, including the terms of reference, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at: www.aph.gov.au/isi

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou on 0417 541 465.

For further information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4594, or isi.reps@aph.gov.au.

Issued: 24 May 2010

Chair - Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP

Deputy - Ms Fran Bailey MP