

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 21 May 2010

Chair – Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP Deputy – Ms Fran Bailey MP

## Australia's international research collaboration Public hearing in Canberra

The House of Representatives Industry, Science and Innovation Committee will conduct its seventh public hearing for its inquiry into Australia's international research collaboration on Wednesday.

Representatives of the Australian National University, Australian Research Council, National Health and Medical Research Council and the Department of Immigration and Citizenship will discuss the nature of existing collaboration, the benefits of international scientific collaboration, impediments to successful collaboration, and strategies for supporting international research engagement.

The inquiry is examining areas of research that can deliver many benefits to Australia and its international research partners.

"International research collaboration delivers tangible benefits to many stakeholders, both in Australia and overseas, reducing costs and sharing in expertise", Committee Chair Maria Vamvakinou said.

"This inquiry focuses on understanding how Australian scientists collaborate with colleagues overseas, and is looking at ways international research collaborations can be better supported".

## PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM Monday 24 May 2010 – 9.30am to 12.15pm Committee Room 1R3, Parliament House, Canberra

- 9.30am Australian National University (submission 14) Professor Lawrence Cram, Deputy Vice Chancellor Dr Mark Matthews, Centre for Policy Innovation
- 10.00amAustralian Research Council (submission 72)Professor Margaret Sheil, CEO
- **10.45am** National Health and Medical Research Council (submission 64) Professor Warwick Anderson, CEO
- 11.30am Department of Immigration and Citizenship Ms Deirdre Russack, Assistant Secretary, Education and Tourism Branch Mr Kukoc Kruno, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Visa Policy Div.

The public hearing will be webcast (<u>webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>), and broadcast internally (audio only) on HMS frequency 97.5. Further details, including the terms of reference, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at: <u>www.aph.gov.au/isi</u>

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou on 0417 541 465.

For further information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4594, or <u>isi.reps@aph.gov.au</u>.