

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 9 March 2010

Chair – Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP Deputy – Ms Fran Bailey MP

Australia's international research collaboration Public hearing in Canberra

The House of Representatives Industry, Science and Innovation Committee will conduct its second public hearing for its inquiry into Australia's international research collaboration on Wednesday.

Representatives of the **Cooperative Research Centres Association (CRCA)** and the **Australian ITER Forum** will discuss the nature of existing collaboration, the benefits of international scientific collaboration, impediments to successful collaboration, and strategies for supporting international research engagement.

The CRCA is the independent representative body for all Cooperative Research Centres, and is the principal non-government advocate for end-user driven cooperative research. The Australian ITER Forum involves over 150 Australian scientists and engineers who support Australian involvement in an International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor.

The inquiry is examining areas of research that can deliver many benefits to Australia and its international research partners.

"International research collaboration delivers tangible benefits to many stakeholders, both in Australia and overseas, reducing costs and sharing in expertise", Committee Chair Maria Vamvakinou said.

"This inquiry focuses on understanding how Australian scientists collaborate with colleagues overseas, and is looking at ways international research collaborations can be better supported".

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM Wednesday 10 March 2010 – 10.00am to 12.00pm Committee Room 1R5, Parliament House, Canberra

- 10.00am Cooperative Research Centres Association (submission 2) Mr Michael Hartmann, Chief Executive Officer
- 10.45am Australian ITER Forum (submission 36) Dr Matthew Hole, Chair Dr Dennis Mather

The public hearing will be webcast (<u>webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>), and broadcast internally (audio only) on HMS frequency 97.5. Further details, including the terms of reference, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at: <u>www.aph.gov.au/isi</u>

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou on 0417 541 465.

For further information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4594, or <u>isi.reps@aph.gov.au</u>.