MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 27 November 2009



Chair – Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP Deputy – Ms Fran Bailey MP

New inquiry into international research collaboration

The House of Representatives Industry, Science and Innovation Committee is to conduct an inquiry into Australia's international research engagement.

Committee Chair Maria Vamvakinou welcomed the referral of this inquiry by the Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, Senator Kim Carr.

"In our globalised world, international collaboration and engagement on science and research are increasingly important", Ms Vamvakinou said.

"Knowledge sharing between governments, institutions and researchers leads to breakthroughs in many fields".

"It is essential that the Australian government continues to facilitate and foster ongoing relationships between our researchers and their colleagues in other countries. This inquiry will help identify the drivers and impediments to international research collaboration and suggest practical ways to enhance this significant process".

The Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research requested that the Committee inquire into and report on Australia's international research engagement, with particular reference to:

- The nature and extent of existing international research collaborations;
- The benefits to Australia from engaging in international research collaborations;
- The key drivers of international research collaboration at the government, institutional and researcher levels;
- The impediments faced by Australian researchers when initiating and participating in international research collaborations and practical measures for addressing these; and
- Principles and strategies for supporting international research engagement.

Interested persons and organisations are invited to make written submissions to the inquiry by **Friday 29 January 2010**. Please contact the Committee Secretary if an extension is required. Further details, including the full terms of reference, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at <u>www.aph.gov.au/isi</u>.

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair, Ms Maria Vamvakinou, on 0417 541 465.

For further information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4594, or isi.reps@aph.gov.au.