

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS

Inquiry into the Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bill 2011 Issued: 14 February 2012

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

## Public Hearing into the Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bill

The House Standing Committee on Infrastructure and Communications will hold a public hearing on **17 February 2012** in **Canberra** as part of its inquiry into the Telecommunications Amendment (Enhancing Community Consultation) Bill 2011.

The Bill proposes 12 amendments to the Telecommunications Act 1997, most of which relate to the roll-out of 'low impact' mobile telecommunications infrastructure. The Bill seeks to impose more stringent safety, siting and consultation requirements on telecommunications companies and their contractors.

The Committee chair, Ms Sharon Bird, said "The committee has received more than 70 submissions to this inquiry from community groups and industry stakeholders, indicating a significant level of interest in the topic. The inquiry has highlighted the difficulty of striking the right balance between community concerns about health and visual amenity on the one hand, and an expectation of world-class telecommunications infrastructure on the other. We look forward to hearing more about these issues at the hearing."

The hearing program is as follows:

FRIDAY 17 FEBRUARY 2012 – PARLIAMENT HOUSE, CANBERRA (Committee Room 1R4)	
10.00am	Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association (AMTA)
11.15am	The Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy (DBCDE)
	The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)
12.15pm	The Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA)
1.30pm	Communications Alliance Ltd.
· · ·	The Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA)

This hearing will be webcast live (audio only) on: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

Further details about the inquiry, including copies of submissions and the full terms of reference can be obtained from the Committee's <u>website</u>.

**For further details about the inquiry:** contact the secretariat on phone (02) 6277 2352; email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u>; or website <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>

**For media comment only:** please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House) or (02) 4228 5899 (electorate office)