

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS

Inquiry into the National Broadband Network

Issued: 26 May 2011

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

NBN inquiry returns to Canberra

The House of Representatives Infrastructure and Communications Committee is conducting an inquiry into the *role and potential* of the National Broadband Network (NBN).

The Committee will hold its fourteenth and final public hearing for the inquiry in **Canberra this Friday, 27 May**.

Committee Chair Sharon Bird said today that "the Committee has spent much of the past three months speaking to organisations across the country about the significant impact that the NBN will have on the Australian economy and society."

"On Friday we will be concluding our hearing schedule in Canberra. We will hear from two of the key government agencies for the NBN – the Departments of Broadband and Finance" she added.

"We'll also be hearing from the Department of Regional Australia about the role the NBN can play in regenerating our regions, and from the Inspire Foundation about how the NBN will improve the delivery of mental health services."

The hearing program is as follows:

8:30 am	Australian Information Industry Association
9:10 am	Inspire Foundation
9:50 am	Australian Library and Information Association
10:40 am	AARNet
11:20 am	Space Industry Innovation Council
12:00 pm	Lunch
1:00 pm	Department of Finance and Deregulation
1:40 pm	Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government
2:20 pm	Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
3:00 pm	Adjourn

The hearings will be held in **Committee Room 2R1, Parliament House, Canberra**. The hearings will also be webcast live on: <u>http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>.

For further details about the inquiry and hearing arrangements: contact the secretariat: phone (02) 6277 2352; email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u>; or website <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>

For media comment only: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House) or (02) 4228 5899 (electorate office)