

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS Inquiry into the National Broadband Network Issued: 27 April 2011

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

NBN inquiry to visit Wollongong and Sydney

The House of Representatives Infrastructure and Communications Committee will conduct public hearings in **Wollongong** tomorrow (Thursday 28 April) and in **Sydney** on Friday (29 April) as part of its inquiry into the *role and potential* of the **National Broadband Network (NBN)**.

"Wollongong is a vibrant, innovative city and nearby Kiama Downs/Minnamurra is a first release site for NBN fibre. The Committee is looking forward to hearing from the organisations of the Illawarra about how the NBN will shape the region's social and economic future", said Sharon Bird, Committee Chair and MP for the Wollongong-based electorate of Cunningham.

"The Sydney hearing will be very important for the inquiry" she added. "We will be talking to the CEO of NBN Co, Mike Quigley, as well the Australian Telecommunications Users Group and a number of important industry participants, including NICTA".

The hearing programs are as follows:	
THURSDAY 28 APRIL - WOLLONGONG (SMART Building 6, Room 105, University of Wollongong)	
10:00 am	University of Wollongong
10:45 am	ICT Illawarra
11:45 am	RDA Illawarra
1:30 pm	Illawarra Business Chamber
2:15 pm	Kiama Municipal Council, Shellharbour City Council, Wollongong City Council
3:00 pm	Consumers e-Health Alliance
FRIDAY 29 APRIL - SYDNEY (Macquarie Room, NSW Parliament House)	
9:00 am	NBN Co
9:45 am	Huawei
10:45 am	Optus
11:30 am	Communications Alliance
1:15 pm	Australian Telecommunications Users Group
2:00 pm	Intel-GE Care Innovations
3.00 pm	National ICT Australia

The hearings will be webcast live (audio only) on: <u>http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>. Further details about the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee's website.

Due to parking limitations, the University has suggested that attendees at the Wollongong hearing consider using a free shuttle bus service, taxi or drop off option – for more details see http://www.uow.edu.au/transport/

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House) or (02) 4228 5899 (electorate office).

For details about the inquiry and hearing arrangements: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2352, email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's website at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>.