

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS

Inquiry into the National Broadband Network

Issued: 15 April 2011

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

NBN inquiry to visit Brisbane and Townsville

The House of Representatives Infrastructure and Communications Committee is conducting an inquiry into the *role and potential* of the **National Broadband Network (NBN)**. The Committee will conduct public hearings in **Brisbane** on Monday 18 April and **Townsville** on Tuesday 19 April.

"To date the Committee has received more than 40 submissions from Queensland, so we are particularly looking forward to engaging with some of these groups in person", said the Chair Sharon Bird (Member for Cunningham) today.

"Brisbane is Australia's third largest city, and with Townsville being a major regional centre and one of the first sites on the mainland to receive NBN fibre, we expect to hear some important evidence from organisations in both cities", she said.

MONDAY 18 APRIL - BRISBANE (Undumbi Room, Parliament House, Alice Street)	
9:00 am	Brisbane City Council
9:40 am	Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee
10:35 am	IT Industry Innovation Council
11:15 am	AgForce Queensland
1:00 pm	The Leukaemia Foundation
1:40 pm	Smartnet Pty Ltd
2:20 pm	The Australian Computer Society
TUESDAY 19 APRIL - TOWNSVILLE (Pandora Room, Holiday Inn, 334 Flinders Mall)	
9:00 am	James Cook University
9:30 am	Townsville City Council
10:15 am	North Queensland Telecom
10:45 am	North QLD Small Business Development Centre
11:30 am	RDA Townsville and North West Queensland
12:00 pm	Cassowary Coast Regional Council

The hearing programs are as follows:

The hearings will be webcast live (audio only) on: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

The Committee has received over 220 written submissions to date. Further details about the inquiry, including copies of submissions and transcripts of previous hearings, can be obtained from the Committee's website.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House) or (02) 4228 5899 (electorate office)

For details about the inquiry and hearing arrangements: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2352, email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's website at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>