

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS

Inquiry into the National Broadband Network

Issued: 9 March 2011

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

NBN inquiry visits the Apple Isle

The House of Representatives Infrastructure and Communications Committee is conducting an inquiry into the *role and potential* of the National Broadband Network (NBN). The Committee will conduct its first interstate public hearings this week in Launceston (Thursday 10 March) and Hobart (Friday 11 March).

"It is no coincidence that the Committee has chosen Tasmania as the site for its first public hearings outside Canberra", said the Chair Sharon Bird (Member for Cunningham) today.

"Being the first place in Australia to receive NBN infrastructure, the Committee is really looking forward to talking with Tasmanians about how fast broadband is likely to affect health, education, business, employment and other aspects of daily life across the state."

LAUNCESTON – THURSDAY 10 MARCH	
1.30 pm	Dorset Council
2.00 pm	North East Tasmania Chamber of Commerce
2.30 pm	Digital Tasmania
3.15 pm	Regional Development Australia (RDA) Tasmania
3.45 pm	Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association
HOBART – FRIDAY 11 MARCH	
9.00 am	Digital Futures Advisory Council
9.45 am	Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
10.45 am	Tasmanian Electronic Commerce Centre
11.30 am	The Hutchins School
1.30 pm	TAS ICT
2.15 pm	Department of Economic Development, Tourism and the Arts

The hearing programs are as follows:

The Committee has received nearly 200 written submissions to date, and late submissions are still being accepted on request. The inquiry's first public hearing was held in Canberra on Friday 4 March and focused on the NBN's potential impacts on health, education, and research and innovation.

Further details about the inquiry, including copies of submissions received to date, can be obtained from the Committee's website at: http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ic/NBN/index.htm.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House) or (02) 4228 5899 (electorate office)

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2352, email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>