

Issued: 3 March 2011

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS Inquiry into the National Broadband Network

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

E-health, Education and the NBN – public hearing tomorrow

The House of Representatives Infrastructure and Communications Committee is conducting an inquiry into the *role and potential* of the National Broadband Network (NBN).

The first public hearing will be held in **Canberra tomorrow (Friday 4 March)**. The hearing will focus on the NBN's potential impacts in health, education, and research and innovation.

"This is the first step in an extensive program of consultation across the country", Committee Chair Sharon Bird (Member for Cunningham) said today. "On Friday we will hear about current work and future possibilities in areas such as e-health and distance education, as well as how the NBN may influence innovation and research in Australia."

The hearing program is as follows:

| HEALTH | |
|-------------------------|---|
| 8.30 am | National Rural Health Alliance |
| 9.10 am | Australian Medical Association |
| 9.50 am | Department of Health and Ageing |
| EDUCATION | |
| 10.45 am | Australian Council for Private Education and Training |
| 11.25 am | Adult Learning Australia |
| 12.05 pm | Australian Information and Communications Technology in Education Committee |
| RESEARCH AND INNOVATION | |
| 1.45 pm | CSIRO |
| 2.25 pm | Australian National University |
| 3.05 pm | Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research |

This hearing will be webcast live on: <u>http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>

The Committee is still accepting late submissions. Anyone wanting to provide a submission should contact the secretariat as soon as possible (details below).

Further details about the inquiry, including copies of submissions received to date, can be obtained from the Committee's website at: http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ic/NBN/index.htm.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House) or (02) 4228 5899 (electorate office)

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2352, email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>