

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 18 May 2011

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS Inquiry into the ratio of cabin crew members on aircraft Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

Public Hearing Into Cabin Crew Ratios

The House of Representatives Infrastructure and Communications Committee will be holding a public hearing to investigate the **ratio of cabin crew to passengers on domestic flights**. The Committee will conduct a public hearing in **Sydney** in the Macquarie Room, **Parliament House**, on Thursday 19 May.

Under current regulations, operators of Australian domestic aircraft carrying between 16 and 216 passengers must carry at least one cabin crew member for every 36 passengers (1:36). The Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) is considering a proposal to amend these regulations.

Since 2006, CASA has permitted a number of airlines to operate certain aircraft with a ratio of one cabin crew member for up to 50 passenger seats (1:50). CASA has proposed implementing the 1:50 regulation for all aircraft with between 20 and 216 passenger seats, subject to the operator having a CASA-approved safety risk management plan in place.

The Chair of the Committee, Sharon Bird, said "cabin crew play a key role in managing the safety and security of passengers on aircraft. We look forward to discussing their role in this important area with key industry stakeholders, government departments, and experts in the field of aviation safety and security."

	THURSDAY 19 MAY - SYDNEY (Macquarie Room, Parliament House)
8.30 am	Civil Aviation Safety Authority
9.30 am	Ms Beverley Maunsell
10.30 am	Qantas Group
11.15 am	Virgin Australia
1.10 pm	Regional Aviation Association Australia and Alliance Airlines
2.00 pm	Department of Infrastructure and Transport
2.45 pm	Civil Aviation Safety Authority

The hearing program is as follows:

This hearing will be webcast live (audio only) on: <u>http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>

Further details about the inquiry, including copies of submissions and the full terms of reference can be obtained from the Committee's website.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 4228 5899

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2352, email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>