The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Advisory report on the Broadcasting Legislation Amendment (Digital Dividend) Bill 2013

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Infrastructure and Communications © Commonwealth of Australia 2013

ISBN 978-1-74366-002-7 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-1-74366-003-4 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

Contents

Membership of the Committee	V
Recommendation	vii
1 Broadcasting Legislation Amendment (Digital Dividend) Bill 2013	1
The bill	2
'Digital dividend' policy	2
The bill's purpose	2
Concerns raised with the Committee	3
Committee findings and recommendation	5
Appendix B – Text of the Bill	11
Appendix C – Submissions	21
Appendix D – Public hearing and witnesses	23

iv

Membership of the Committee

Chair Mr Nick Champion MP

Deputy Chair Mr Paul Neville MP

Members Mr Paul Fletcher MP Mr Ed Husic MP Mr Stephen Jones MP Mr Robert Oakeshott MP * supplementary member for this inquiry Mrs Jane Prentice MP Mr Mike Symon MP Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP*

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Julia Morris
Inquiry Secretary	Thomas Gregory
Research Officer	Leonie Bury
Administrative Officers	Jessica Hargreaves
	Peter Pullen

Recommendation

1 Broadcasting Legislation Amendment (Digital Dividend) Bill 2013 Recommendation

The Committee recommends that the House pass the bill.

viii