

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS Inquiry into bills referred on 24 November 2011 Issued: 9 February 2011

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

Public Hearing into Road Safety Remuneration Bills

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Infrastructure and Communications will hold a public hearing on **15 February 2012** in **Canberra** as part of its inquiry into the Road Safety Remuneration Bill 2011 and the Road Safety Remuneration (Consequential Amendments and Related Provisions) Bill 2011.

The Chair of the Committee, Sharon Bird, said "In 2008-09, the fatality rate in the Australian trucking industry was ten times the average in other industries. The Road Safety Remuneration bills aim to promote safety and fairness in the road transport industry by lessening the incentives for unsafe behaviour that exist at present. The bills would establish an independent Road Safety Tribunal with the power to set rates of pay and work conditions for commercial truck drivers (particularly owner-drivers) in order to increase safety levels in the industry."

Ms Bird continued: "The Committee has received submissions on this proposed legislation from industry stakeholders and looks forward to hearing from them in more detail at the public hearing. The creation of a Road Safety Tribunal empowered to set safe rates across the road transport industry has the potential to be an important reform with significant consequences for the industry."

What: Public hearing for inquiry into the Road Safety Remuneration Bills.

When: 4.00pm (approx), Wednesday 15 February 2012.

Where: Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House, Canberra.

Further details about the inquiry, including copies of submissions received to date, can be obtained from the Committee's <u>website</u>.

The hearing will be webcast live (audio only) at: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2352, email <u>ic.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ic</u>

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717.