

Issued: 07 July 2011

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS THE 2010 FEDERAL ELECTION: REPORT INTO THE CONDUCT OF THE ELECTION Chair: Daryl Melham MP

Chair: Daryl Melham MP Deputy Chair: Hon Alex Somlyay MP

Report on the 2010 federal election and proposals for enfranchisement

Federal Parliament's Electoral Matters Committee tabled a report in the House of Representatives today on the conduct of the 2010 federal election and related matters.

"The committee found that overall the 2010 federal election was successfully conducted by the Australian Electoral Commission. However, there were a number of issues that arose that illustrate there is room for improvement to protect the franchise of eligible Australians to participate in the electoral process and to help ensure that future elections are conducted efficiently and effectively," said Committee Chair, Daryl Melham MP.

The report examines the conduct of the 2010 federal election and makes 37 recommendations to enhance the conduct of future elections. Key recommendations aimed at enfranchising eligible Australians include:

- enabling the direct enrolment of eligible electors and update of details by the AEC based on data provided from trusted sources;
- allowing enrolment at time of voting in certain circumstances;
- permitting the use of electronic or digitally formed signatures for enrolment purposes;
- changing the objection process requirement that removes electors from the roll; and
- a savings provision to help address the growing number of informal votes, which had it applied to the House of Representatives at the 2010 federal election could have saved as many as 307 156 of the 729 304 informal votes.

Copies of the report are available on the committee's website at:

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/em/elect10/report.htm.

Fact sheets on key issues and recommendations in the 2010 federal election report are available from the committee's website at:

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/em/elect10/media.htm.

For media comment: Please contact the Committee Chair, Daryl Melham MP on 02 6277 2054 (Parliament House office) or 02 9774 2111 (Electoral office).

For general information: Contact the Inquiry Secretary on 02 6277 2374 or jscem@aph.gov.au.