

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS

8 August 2005

Chair: Tony Smith MP Deputy Chair: Michael Danby MP

Inquiry into the conduct of the 2004 election

Public hearing in Canberra – Monday 8 August

The Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters inquiry into the conduct of the 2004 federal election continues today with public hearings in Canberra on Monday, 8 August. Details and program are as follows:

Date:	Monday, 8 August 2005
Time:	9.30am – 5.00pm
Venue:	Committee Room 2R1
	Parliament House
Broadcast:	Within Parliament House on Channel 10
9.30am – 10.00am	Mr Phillip Green
	ACT Electoral Commissioner
10.00am – 10.30am	Sir David Smith
10.30am – 11.20am	Mr Brian Loughnane
	Liberal Party of Australia Federal Secretariat
11.20am – 12.10pm	Mr Tim Gartrell
	Australian Labor Party National Secretariat
12.10pm – 1.00pm	Mr Andrew Hall
	The Nationals Federal Secretariat
1.00pm – 2.30pm	Lunch
2.30pm – 3.30pm	Senator Bob Brown
3.30pm – 4.00pm	Mr Laurie Ferguson
	Member for Reid

The Electoral Matters Committee is a Joint Committee of the House of Representatives and the Senate, and comprises Mr Tony Smith (chair), Mr Michael Danby (deputy chair), Senator George Brandis, Senator Kim Carr, Senator Michael Forshaw, Senator Brett Mason, Senator Andrew Murray, Mr Steven Ciobo, Mr Daryl Melham, and Ms Sophie Panopoulos.

Details about the inquiry and the Committee's hearing program are available from the committee's website at <u>www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/em/elect04</u>.

Contact details:

Committee chairman: Tony Smith – Parliament: 02 6277 4284 Electorate: 03 9724 9222 Committee secretary: (02) 6277 4564