# Α

# Appendix A

## Submissions to the inquiry

No.	Individual / Organisation
-----	---------------------------

- 1. Mr Patrick Tacey, Creswick North Primary School
- 2. Mr Glenn W. Marchant
- 3. Name withheld
- 4. Dr Bede Harris, University of Canberra
- 5. Dr Sarah Barker
- 6. Mr Brian Moore
- 7. Mr Robert Smith
- 8. Mr Ian Martin, Alfredton Primary School
- 9. Mr David Westaway, Alfredton Primary School
- 10. Australian College of Educators
- 11. Multicultural Council of Wagga Wagga
- 12. Western Australian Electoral Commission
- 13. The Hon Alan Carpenter, Premier of Western Australia

- 14. The Hon Wayne Berry, Speaker of the ACT Legislative Assembly
- 15. Community Relations Commission
- 16. Parliamentary Education and Community Relations Section, Parliament of NSW
- 17. Local Government Association of South Australia
- 18. Mr Robert Tuppini
- 19. Australian Centre for Educational Studies, Macquarie University
- 20. Political & Legal Educators of Western Australia
- 21. Dr Norman Abjorensen et al., Australian National University
- 22. Dr Harry Phillips, Parliamentary Fellow, Parliament of WA
- 23. Ms Lucy van der Wall
- 24. The Hon. Shelly Archer MLC, Member for Mining and Pastoral Region, WA
- 25. Australian Federation of Societies for Studies of Society and Environment
- 26. Ms Astrid Fauchon
- 27. Ms Yvonne Goudie
- 28. Department of the Senate
- 29. Ms Nicola Roxon MP
- 30. Australian Greens
- 31. Ms Jacqueline Mowbray
- 32. Mr Michael Doyle
- 33. Multicultural Council of Tasmania
- 34. Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission
- 35. Ms Kelly Parker
- 36. Victorian Electoral Commission
- 37. Auburn Migrant Resource Centre
- 38. Ms Janet Magnin
- 39. Ms Alison Hogg
- 40. Rosetta Primary School, Hobart

- 41. Democratic Audit of Australia 42. Dr David Lovell and Dr Linda Botteril, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Australian Defence Force Academy 43. The Students' Association of the University of Adelaide 44. United Nations Youth Association of Tasmania 45. National Union of Students 46. Ms Robyn Stephenson 47. Dr Lucas Walsh, Centre for Citizenship and Human Rights, Deakin University 48. Australian Education Union 49. ACT Minister's Youth Council 50. Local Government Association of Queensland 51. National Capital Educational Tourism Project 52. Ms Jo Anne Rey 53. Civil Liberties Australia ACT Branch 54. Dr Murray Print and Dr Lawrence J. Saha, Youth Electoral Study 55. Guides Australia 56. Association of Independent Schools of Victoria 57. Mr Richard Lenn 58. Mr Andrew Wettern 59. Hambledon State School, Cairns 60. Proportional Representation Society of Australia (Vic-Tas) 61. Mr Eric Brown 62. Mr John R. Miller 63. Mr Andrew Ambrosius 64. Mr Peter Brent, Political Science, Australian National University 65. Ruyton Girls' School, Victoria
- 66. Queensland Council of Parents and Citizens Associations Inc.
- 67. Local Government Association of Queensland (supplementary)

- 68. Ms Jane Gray, Parliamentary Education Officer, Parliament of WA
- 69. SBS Corporation
- 70. Mr Edward Smith
- 71. St Patrick's College, Ballarat
- 72. Australian Electoral Commission
- 73. Constitution Education Fund Australia
- 74. Commission for Children and Young People and Child Guardian,Queensland; New South Wales Commission for Children and YoungPeople; and the Commissioner for Children, Tasmania
- 75. Mr Duncan Sinclair
- 76. Mr John Nugent
- 77. Mr Toby Chambers
- 78. Mr Roger Dine
- 79. Mr Barry McGinley
- 80. Cllr Peter Morris
- 81. Mr Andrew J. Smith
- 82. Australian Children's Television Foundation
- 83. ACT Electoral Commission
- 84. South Australian Electoral Office
- 85. Southern Cross Group
- 86. Queensland Department of Education and the Arts
- 87. Australian Labor Party
- 88. Victorian Department of Education and Training, Office of Learning and Teaching
- 89. Independent Schools Council Australia
- 90. Australian Catholic University, Faculty of Education
- 91. Department of the House of Representatives
- 92. Office of Multicultural Interests WA, Department of the Premier and Cabinet
- 93. Mr Colin Robert Lawton

- 94. Local Government Association of the Northern Territory
- 95. The Hon. Teresa Gambaro MP
- 96. Association of Independent Schools of South Australia
- 97. Ms Amber Sierek
- 98. Northern Territory Electoral Commission
- 99. Mr Richard Lenn (supplementary)
- 100. Department of Education, Science and Training
- 101. Ms Kelly Parker (supplementary)
- 102. New South Wales Government, Cabinet Office
- 103. Proportional Representation Society of Australia
- 104. Democratic Audit of Australia (supplementary)
- 105. Tasmanian Youth Government Association
- 106. Mrs Melissa Rasmussen
- 107. Democratic Audit of Australia (supplementary)
- 108. Department of the House of Representatives (supplementary)
- 109. Mr Brian Moore (supplementary)
- 110. Department of Education Science and Training (supplementary)
- 111. Lions Australia
- 112. Dr Harry Phillips (supplementary)
- 113. Mr Don Perna, St Joseph's School, Albion Park
- 114. Hambledon State School (supplementary)
- 115. Australian Electoral Commission (supplementary)
- 116. Australian Electoral Commission (supplementary)
- 117. The Hon Teresa Gambaro MP (supplementary)
- 118. Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

### Exhibits presented to the inquiry

### No. Organisation / Individual

- 1. Mr Boyd Jorgensen, Principal of Beerwah State High School, "Citizenship Curriculum"
- 2. Hobart City Council "Youth participation report"
- 3. Mr Don Perna, St Joseph's High School, "The Parliamentary Club"
- 4. Ms Louis Mackay Head of Department, Morayfield State High School, *"Citizenship curriculum"*
- 5. Ngaanyatjarra Shire Council "Shared Responsibility Agreement Between Aboriginal Community of Warburton"
- 6. Department of the Senate "Website Usage Analysis Report, October 2005-March 2006"
- 7. Mr Brent Ritchie and Ms Sue Uzabeaga, "Discover what it means to be Australian in your National Capital: Size and effect of school excursions to the National Capital", Centre for Tourism Research, University of Canberra
- 8. Mr Tony Poynter, Advanced Skill Teacher, Rosetta Primary School, *"Citizenship curriculum"*
- 9. Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee
- Mr Peter Vardos
   Dept. of Immigration & Multicultural Affairs
   "Welcome to Canberra"