

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS Inquiry into the NSW Parliamentary Electorates and Elections Amendment (Automatic Enrolment) Bill 2009 Issued: 9 December 2009

Chair: Daryl Melham Deputy Chair: Scott Morrison

## Committee to examine NSW proposal for automatic electoral enrolment

Federal parliament's Electoral Matters Committee will examine a proposed new law recently introduced into the New South Wales Parliament for its potential impact on enrolment processes for Commonwealth elections.

The Parliamentary Electorates and Elections Amendment (Automatic Enrolment) Bill 2009, introduced on 12 November 2009, proposes significant amendments to the processes surrounding, and requirements for, enrolment for the purposes of NSW elections. All States and Territories currently have joint roll agreements with the Australian Electoral Commission and electors only need to complete one form to enrol for Federal, State and local government elections.

The terms of reference for the inquiry, referred by Special Minister of State, Senator Joe Ludwig, are:

That the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters inquire into the implications of the New South Wales Parliamentary Electorates and Elections Amendment (Automatic Enrolment) Bill 2009 for the conduct of Commonwealth elections, including any consequences for the enrolment of persons living in New South Wales for the purposes of Commonwealth elections.

Further information, including a copy of the Parliamentary Electorates and Elections Amendment (Automatic Enrolment) Bill 2009, are available from the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/em/autobill2009/index.htm</u>.

The Committee is expected to report by 25 February 2010 and will accept submissions, preferably by email to <a href="mailto:iscem@aph.gov.au">iscem@aph.gov.au</a>, until Friday, **22 January 2010**.

Alternatively submissions may be posted to:

The Committee Secretary Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters PO Box 6021 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600.

**For media comment:** please contact the Committee Chair, Daryl Melham, on (02) 9774 2111 (Electorate Office).

**Further information:** contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 4578, email <u>iscem@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/em</u>.