# С

# **Appendix C – Hearings and witnesses**

Monday, 28 August 2006 – Melbourne Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Dr Vaughan Beck, Technical Director Mr Peter Laver, Vice President Australian Council of Wool Exporters and Processors Mr Peter Carey, Member Mr Jamie Lillie, Executive Committee Member Dr Peter Morgan, Executive Director Mr Sal Vasile, Member Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy Mr Don Larkin, Chief Executive Officer Ms Monika Sarder, Senior Policy and Research Coordinator Ford Motor Company of Australia Limited Ms Elly Haug, Manager, Government Liaison Mr Russell Scoular, Manager, Government Affairs Geelong Manufacturing Council Mr David Peart, Executive Officer

### **RMIT University**

Dr Julie Wells, Director, Policy and Planning

Ms Katrina Woodland, Research Analyst, Policy and Planning

# Tuesday, 29 August 2006 - Sydney

Private capacity

Mr Ted Roach

Mr Tony Strasser

Australian Industry Group

Dr Peter Burn, Associate Director, Public Policy

Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

Mr Doug Cameron, National Secretary

Mr Patrick Conroy, National Projects Officer

Australian Steel Institute

Mr Ian Cairns, National Manager, Manufacturing and Distribution

Mr Walter Nicolussi, Member

Blakemore Consulting International

Dr John Blakemore, Chief Executive and Principal (Innovation)

### Standards Australia

Mr Ian Graham, Consultant

Mr John Henry, Director, International and Standardisation Policy

### Thursday, 12 October 2006 - Canberra

A3P—Australian Plantation Products and Paper Industry Council

Mr Neil Fisher, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Miles Prosser, Manager, Pulp and Paper

## Thursday, 19 October 2006 - Canberra

Private capacity

Professor Mark Dodgson, Director of the Technology and Innovation Management Centre, University of Queensland Thursday, 2 November 2006 – Canberra Industry Capability Network Limited Mr Derek Lark, Executive Director Mr David McLachlan, Chairman Tuesday, 14 November 2006 – Sydney Private capacity Professor Roy Green, Dean, Macquarie School of Management Department of Education and Training, TAFE New South Wales Mr Kimble Fillingham, General Manager, TAFE Business Wednesday, 22 November 2006 – Melbourne Australian Council of Trade Unions Mr Nixon Apple, Adviser, Industry and Investment Policy BlueScope Steel Limited Mr David Jenkins, Manager Mr Steve Mann, Executive Vice President National Institute of Economic and Industry Research Dr Peter Brain, Executive Director Mr Michael Spencer, Senior Consultant National Manufacturing Forum Mr Robert Herbert, Executive Chairman Mr Nigel Reeves, Project Manager Friday, 1 December 2006 – Canberra Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Mr Nicolas Brown, Assistant Secretary, Trade and Economic Analysis Branch Ms Lorraine Fietz, Acting Assistant Secretary

Mr Graeme Meehan, Deputy Head, China Free Trade Agreement Task Force

Mr Brendan Pearson, Assistant Secretary, Services and Intellectual Property Branch

Mr Ric Wells, Head, China Free Trade Agreement

Austrade

Mr Lloyd Downey, National Manager, Education, Arts and Business Services

Mr Lino (Pasquale) Strangis, Manager, Industry Policy

Mr Hayden Williams, National Manager, Automotive and Advanced Manufacturing

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Mr Jeff Beeston, Acting General Manager, Automotive, TCF and Engineering Branch

Dr Donald Brunker, General Manager, Industry Analysis

Mr Peter Clarke, Acting Head of Division, Manufacturing, Engineering and Construction Division

Mr Mike Lawson, General Manager, Aerospace, Defence and Industry Participation Branch

The Treasury

Mr Graeme Davis, Manager, Macro Dynamics Unit, Macroeconomic Policy Division

Mr John Hawkins, Manager, Business and Liaison Unit

Dr Steven Kennedy, General Manager, Domestic Economy Division

Ms Maryanne Mrakovcic, General Manager, Industry, Environment and Defence Division

Mr Troy Sloan, Manager, Industry Policy Unit

Thursday, 7 December 2006 - Canberra

Australian Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers' Association Limited

Ms Loretta Johnson, General Manager, Policy

Mr Angus Robinson, Chief Executive

Thursday, 8 February 2007 – Canberra Australian Fashion Council Mrs Zoe Edquist, General Manager **Bruck Textiles Proprietary Limited** Mr Brett Manwaring, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer **Cinnabar Designs Proprietary Limited** Ms Christine Hawkins, Director Council of Textile and Fashion Industries of Australia Limited Mr Ashley Van Krieken, Executive Director **Melba Industries** Mr Lindsay Black, Operations Director Stafford Group Proprietary Limited Mr Peter Waddell, Chief Financial Officer Friday, 2 March 2007 – Canberra Department of Education, Science and Training Dr Evan Arthur, Group Manager, Innovation and Research Systems Group Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry Mr Gregory Evans, Director, Industry Policy and Innovation Mr Peter Johnson, Policy Advisor Science Industry Australia Professor Mark Baker, Committee Member Dr Hadrian Fraval, Member Dr Jim Gonis, Executive Council Member Dr John Pulsford, Manager, Research and Development

# Thursday, 15 March 2007 – Melbourne Australian Synchrotron Dr Robert Hobbs, Science and Industry Adviser Professor Robert Lamb, Science Director Designate Mr Max Roger, Director Private capacity Associate Professor Stephen Barkoczy, University of Monash Law School Nanotechnology Victoria Proprietary Limited Dr Peter Binks, Chief Executive Officer **NEC Australia Proprietary Limited** Ms Effie Hansen, Market Analyst Mr Brendan McManus, Senior Executive, Corporate Planning Starpharma Ltd and Healthfarm Foods Proprietary Limited Dr John Raff, Deputy Chairman and Chairman respectively Thursday, 22 March 2007 – Canberra Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) Dr Roderick Hill, Executive Director, Business Development Mr Gregory Redden, Manager, Business Strategy