The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Advisory Report on the Fair Work Amendment (Tackling Job Insecurity) Bill 2012

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Education and Employment

June 2013 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2013

ISBN 978-1-74366-054-6 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-1-74366-055-3 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

Contents

Membership of the Committee	V
Terms of reference	vii
List of abbreviations	ix
List of recommendations	xi

THE REPORT

1	Fair Work Amendment (Tackling Job Insecurity) Bill 2012	1
	Referral and conduct of inquiry	1
	Scope of inquiry	2
	Background	2
	Australian workforce	2
	Casual loadings	3
	Casual conversions	4
	Protection from unfair dismissal under the Fair Work Act 2009	4
	Context of the inquiry	5
	Outline of the Fair Work Amendment (Tackling Job Insecurity) Bill 2012	6
	Part 2-7B, Division 2 – Requests for secure employment arrangements	7
	Part 2-7B, Division 3 – Secure employment orders	7
	Stakeholders' response	10
	Broad issue of insecure work	
	Technical concerns with the Bill	
	Uncertainty of terminology in the Bill	

14
16
18
18
19
20
22
23
24
26
28
-

APPENDICES

Appendix A – Text of the Bill	31
Appendix B - Submissions	41
Appendix C – List of public hearings	43

DISSENTING REPORT

The Australian Greens' dissenting report	45
Introduction	
Rationale for change	
Evidence	
Conclusion	

Membership of the Committee

Chair Mr Mike Symon MP

Deputy Chair Mr Rowan Ramsey MP

Members Mrs Karen Andrews MP Mr Graham Perrett MP Ms Deborah O'Neill MP The Hon Chris Bowen MP Mr Alan Tudge MP Mr Adam Bandt MP* (from 29 November 2012)

Mr Dan Tehan MP* (from 29 November 2012)

* Mr Bandt and Mr Tehan are supplementary members of the Committee for the purposes and duration of the inquiry into the Fair Work Amendment (Tackling Job Insecurity) Bill 2012.

Committee Secretariat

Secretary	Dr Glenn Worthington
Inquiry Secretary	Ms Sara Edson
Research Officer	Ms Casey Mazzarella
Secondee	Mr David Olde
Administrative Officers	Mr Danny Miletic
	Ms Emily Costelloe

Terms of reference ՝Կe text of th The terms of reference are the text of the Fair Work Amendment (Tackling Job Insecurity) Bill 2012.

List of abbreviations

ABI	Australian Business Industrial – the industrial relations affiliate of the New South Wales Business Chamber
ABS	Australian Bureau of Statistics
ACCI	Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
ACTU	Australian Council of Trade Unions
AEU	Australian Education Union
Ai Group	Australian Industry Group
AIER	Australian Institute of Employment Rights
AMMA	Australian Mines and Metals Association
APS	Australian Public Service
APSC	Australian Public Service Commission
CCI WA	Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia
DEEWR	Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations
ERO	Equal Remuneration Order
FECCA	Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia
FWA	Fair Work Australia (now the Fair Work Commission)
FWC	Fair Work Commission

HIA Housing Industry Association

- NES National Employment Standards
- NTEU National Tertiary Education Union
- NUW National Union of Workers
- QNU Queensland Nurses' Union
- SEO Secure Employment Order

List of recommendations

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends that the House of Representatives not pass the Fair Work Amendment (Tackling Job Insecurity) Bill 2012.