

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 9 July 2010

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND TRAINING

INQUIRY INTO SCHOOL LIBRARIES AND TEACHER LIBRARIAN IN AUSTRALIAN SCHOOLS Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Dr Dennis Jensen MP

## Interstate hearings for school libraries inquiry

Adelaide 12 July, Perth 13 July

The House of Representatives Education Committee will hear from a range of professional bodies, education stakeholders and community organisations at public hearings in Adelaide and Perth on Monday and Tuesday next week. The hearings are part of the committee's inquiry into school libraries and teacher librarians in Australian schools. At the conclusion of these hearings, the committee will have conducted hearings in every state and territory. Programs for the two hearings are as follows:

## Monday, 12 July 2010 (10.00am - 1.10pm)

Venue: Balcony Room, Level 1, Parliament of South Australia, North Terrace, Adelaide

10:00am	Australian Library and Information Association
10:35am	Morning Tea
10:40am	School Library Association of South Australia
	Joint Use Libraries Association of South Australia
11:20am	Children's Book Council of Australia (SA Branch)
	Education Services Australia
12:00noon	Public Libraries South Australia
	Friends of Libraries Australia
12:40pm	School of Computer and Information Science, University of South Australia
1:10pm	Adjourn

## Tuesday, 13 July 2010 (10.00am - 3.00pm)

Venue: Committee Room 2, Legislative Assembly Committees Office, Level 1/11 Harvest Tce, West Perth

10:00am	WA School Library Association / Edith Cowan University Mrs Anette Ainsworth
10:45am	Children's Book Council of Australia (WA Branch) writingWA
11:30am	Western Australian Local Government Association
12:00noon	Catholic Primary Principals' Association (WA)
12:30pm	Lunch
1:30pm	Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia Libraries Inc.
2:00pm	WA Department of Education and Training
3:00pm	Adjourn

Webcast (Adelaide hearing only): Live on <u>http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u> (audio only).

**For media comment:** please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird on (02) 4228 5899 (Electorate Office).

**Further information:** contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4573, email <u>edt.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/edt/</u>