

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 27 April 2010

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND TRAINING INQUIRY INTO SCHOOL LIBRARIES AND TEACHER LIBRARIANS IN AUSTRALIAN SCHOOLS

Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Dr Dennis Jensen MP

Hearings to examine role of school libraries and teacher librarians

Sydney 28 April, Melbourne 29 April, Hobart 30 April

Peak bodies for school libraries and the information services sector, education unions, teacher librarian networks and State education departments will be appearing before the House of Representatives Education Committee over the next three days. The committee is holding public hearings to investigate issues relating to school libraries and teacher librarians in Australian schools.

Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird MP (Cunningham, NSW) said today, "The Committee has received an overwhelming response to the inquiry, and it is pleasing to see so many people taking an interest in the role of school libraries and teacher librarians."

"The committee's inquiry will look at a broad range of issues including the impact of recent policies and investments on school libraries, factors influencing recruitment and development of school librarians, and the potential for school libraries to contribute to improved literacy," said Ms Bird.

Further hearings for the inquiry are planned for Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Darwin and Perth. This week's hearing schedule is as follows:

Wednesday 28 April 2010

10.00am-3.00pm, Waratah Room, NSW Parliament, Sydney.

Thursday 29 April 2010

10.00am–3.00pm, Legislative Council Committee Room, Parliament of Victoria, Melbourne.

Friday 30 April 2010

10.00am–3.00pm, Committee Room 2, Parliament of Tasmania, Hobart.

Programs for each day's hearing are available from the inquiry website: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/edt/schoollibraries/hearings.htm</u>.

Please note that the Melbourne hearing will be webcast live (audio only) on: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

Further details on the inquiry can be obtained on the Committee's website at: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/edt</u>.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird on (02) 4228 5899 (Electorate office).

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4573, email <u>edt.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/edt/</u>