

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND TRAINING INQUIRY INTO SCHOOL LIBRARIES AND TEACHER LIBRARIANS IN

INQUIRY INTO SCHOOL LIBRARIES AND TEACHER LIBRARIANS IN AUSTRALIAN SCHOOLS Issued: 18 March 2010

Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Dr Dennis Jensen MP

Committee to examine school libraries and teacher librarians in Australian schools

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Education and Training has been asked by the Federal Minister for Education to inquire into and report on the role, adequacy and resourcing of school libraries and teacher librarians in Australia's public and private schools.

The Terms of Reference require that the committee specifically focus on:

- the impact of recent policies and investments on school libraries and their activities
- the future potential of school libraries and librarians to contribute to improved educational and community outcomes, especially literacy
- the factors influencing recruitment and development of school librarians
- the role of different levels of government and local communities and other institutions in partnering with and supporting school librarians
- the impact and potential of digital technologies to enhance and support the roles of school libraries and librarians

Announcing the inquiry, committee chair Ms Sharon Bird, MP, stated "Teacher librarians make a significant contribution to the school community in a number of ways, including teaching information literacy skills and providing access to information and resources to facilitate learning. The committee looks forward to hearing the views of interested stakeholders from around the country."

The committee invites interested organisations and individuals to make written submissions to the inquiry, addressing the terms of reference, by **16 April 2010**.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird on (02) 6277 4717.

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4578, email <u>edt.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/edt/</u>