

Issued: 11 March 2009

Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Dr Dennis Jensen MP

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND TRAINING INQUIRY INTO COMBINING SCHOOL AND WORK: SUPPORTING SUCCESSFUL YOUTH TRANSITIONS

## **Creating pathways for youth** TAFE Directors to appear at combining school and work inquiry

## Public Hearing 12 March 2009

The House of Representatives Education and Training Committee will hear from representatives from TAFE Directors Australia at a public hearing in Canberra on Thursday 12 March 2009 as part of the Committee's inquiry into 'combining school and work: supporting successful youth transitions'.

Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird MP, said today "In its submission, TAFE Directors Australia presented a series of case studies which identified some successful new models for vocational education and flexible, innovative approaches to attaining a senior secondary certificate."

"The committee looks forward to hearing how TAFE is engaging with young people to help them combine school and work and to create pathways to employment or further education."

Further details on the inquiry, including the terms of reference, can be obtained from the Committee's website at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/edt</u>.

While the closing date for submissions has passed, the committee will continue to receive submissions and organisations and individuals wishing to lodge a submission should contact the committee secretariat.

Event:	Public hearing – Combining school and work: supporting successful youth transitions
Date/Time:	Thursday, 12 March 2009, 9.30am – 10.45am.
Where:	Committee Room 1R6, Parliament House, Canberra
Webcast:	(Audio only) Live on <u>http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>
Please note:	The Committee will be conducting a short private meeting prior to the commencement of the public hearing. The public will be admitted at the conclusion of the private meeting.

**For media comment:** please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House).

**Further information:** contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4578, email <u>edt.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/edt/</u>