

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND TRAINING REVIEW OF DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, SCIENCE AND TRAINING ANNUAL REPORT 2006-07 Issued: 17 September 2008

Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Dr Dennis Jensen MP

House Education Committee to meet with TAFE Directors

Public Hearing 18 September 2008

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Education and Training will hold a public hearing in Canberra with representatives from TAFE Directors Australia on Thursday 18 September. The hearing is part of the Committee's review of the former Department of Education, Science and Training Annual Report 2006-07.

Established in 1998, TAFE Directors Australia is the national peak body representing the Chief Executives of Australia's government-owned TAFE Institutes.

The public hearing follows various activities which have been conducted at Parliament House this week as TDA celebrates its 10th anniversary with a two day 'TAFE meets Parliament: Skills Innovation 2020' forum.

Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird MP, said today "Committee members have appreciated the chance to engage with TAFE Directors this week as TDA celebrates its 10th Anniversary."

"Having the Directors in Canberra has presented a welcome opportunity for the committee to take evidence from TDA on issues currently under examination by the committee."

Some of the issues the committee has identified as topics of interest for its annual report review include skills requirements to meet emerging trade demands; the Australian Qualifications Framework and the relevance of the national competencies; and issues concerning mature-age apprentices.

Public Hearing:

Date/Time:	Thursday, 18 September 2008, commencing at 9.30am
Witnesses:	TAFE Directors Australia
Venue:	Committee Room 1R6, Parliament House, Canberra.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House).

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4578, email <u>edt.reps@aph.gov.au</u> or visit the Committee's webpage at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/edt/</u>